oh what fun it is to fly…

I am very thankful for air travel. We are in California and we arrived when we were supposed to! Rather amazing. It still can be a bit of a process but then I think of the Oregon Trail and things slip back into perspective. But I’ll tell you about the process regardless.

We flew out of Dulles and decided to spend the night at a hotel for free parking and shuttle service. Wes booked this a couple weeks ago but when we arrived, no beds were available. Wes looked at them and they managed to find one. Two twins stuck together. Ev had a pack and play but was appropriately leery of the set up so we brought her into bed with us.

I’m sure you remember when the major rage was planking. But I’m not sure if you’ve heard of whaling. It looks something like this. I demonstrated this trend to a friend and in the midst of my whaling, her husband walked by. And then questioned my mental and social capabilities.

Whaling best describes Evelyn’s actions while in bed with us.

So we had that for about an hour before finally all falling asleep into a deep sleep. This was cruelly interrupted at 2:21 am by the desk clerk calling our room just to see if anyone was in there. Oh such anger surging through my soul. Due to a cold and a cough, I have to find the exact perfect position to sleep so that I do not sneeze or hack up a lung, thus waking the whaling baby in the bed.This perfect position became elusive, causing me to only doze until the alarm went off at 5:45.

Typical long lines for checking in bags. Airport sign saying east security wait 15 minutes long, west security wait 4 minutes long. We walked a quarter mile to west security only to find it closed. Walked back to east security. Fifteen minute wait. Wesley’s shoes set up a smell alarm. (What?) Stroller had to do a wipe down. Drone had to be checked out. Backpack had to be searched. I decided to head towards gate and miraculously noticed there’d been a gate change. From the C wing to the D wing. Kind of a major deal. Run back to tell Wes. Get on the shuttle with Ev. Arrive at an absolutely empty gate. Everyone is on plane or in jetway. Ask if I can wait for my husband to board. Nervously text Wes.

We made it. All was fine. But oh, what a wonderful feeling to get up in the air and leave it all behind. Note to self and all friends: when traveling from Dulles, give yourself two hours. I was so incredibly relieved we’d gotten there early.

We are having a wonderful time. It’s absolutely gorgeous. Ev’s amazing us by getting her adventure on. I’m making sure I get in at least a two mile walk per day. (Go me.) Dogs. Birds. Beach. Gasping. Iced coffees and cookies. Drones. Fish tacos.

It’s been great.IMG_5095 IMG_5101 IMG_5110IMG_5115IMG_5114Love and hugs to all. Especially to those in that gloomy (so I hear) land we left behind. Sending you sunshine.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in baby, cayucos, family, Happiness, Journeys End, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to oh what fun it is to fly…

  1. Jana says:

    Sounds marvelous. And I hope you got a discount or refund on that hotel room!

  2. Your nosey neighbor wants to see the “whaling” when you are back in sunny Virginia.

  3. laurie says:

    ahh babies and beaches. perf.

  4. A Virginia Friend says:

    Hi, Kels ~ Hats off to you for blogging while on such a lovely vaca! Missing you, but so happy you can have this time with your family! I sit here looking at black trees against a white sky this afternoon. It’s pretty. But your pictures are prettier. šŸ˜Š

Leave a Reply

