Charleston and back.

A couple weeks ago, I leaned over to see Wes on Amtrak’s website. ‘We going somewhere?’ I asked. He told me his idea, I thought it sounded brilliant and on Thursday we boarded a train with some friends bound for Charleston, South Carolina./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c14/17142873/files/2014/12/img_5035.jpg

What a great trip. I was a bit nervous in the days preceding due to Ev and I feeling somewhat rocky. I’m not sure if it was just an answer to prayer or sunshine, exercise and fresh air, but it was just what we needed./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c14/17142873/files/2014/12/img_5042.jpg

And it greatly exceeded our expectations. The weather was brilliant, everything was much older than I realized, the places to walk were beautiful…a charming place all around. We walked over ten miles in two days. We thought our thighs were going to fall off. Our friends were like, ‘huh? sore? thighs? what? nope.’. I about died. But it was great./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c14/17142873/files/2014/12/img_5043.jpg

We took a carriage ride through the city, learned a bit of history. Ev chucked a shoe out the side and we walked back a couple blocks and found it in the middle of the road. That was fun treasure hunt. Lovely swinging benches. Lovely parks. A very stroller friendly and dog friendly town. Ev was delighted with all the animals. Her giggle when horses came down the street verged on the hysterical. Here she is mid gasp./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/c14/17142873/files/2014/12/img_5037.jpg

It was a ‘firsts’ trip for us. First time to Charleston. First time to go on a vacation with friends (other than camping). First time to do anything like this with Ev. And we’d do it again in a heartbeat.

Thankful for the time, glorious weather, friends, health and safety.

And thankful to be home. Ev’s been giggling with delight all morning.

And now to attack the disaster zone that is my bedroom.

Hugs and love to you all.

 

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in friends, Happiness, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

