a day in the life.

DSC_0034

What’s on at five these days? Ellen? Dancing with the Stars? Whenever we can, Ev and I like to curl up on the couch and watch our five o’clock show. It’s called The Birds. And they’re there come ice or snow or wind or cloud or sun. Or at least the last three. Huge droves of these little black birds suddenly appear and they dive from tree to tree, over to the church, back over the hill, yither and yon. I sing The Birds up in the Treetops. Ev points, says birdies (you’d never guess it), and gasps.

I would say that Ev gasps thirty times a day. And that’s a very conservative number. She gasps when the microwave goes off, anytime she sees or hears a piece of technology, when she sees food, when Gladys runs by, when she sees a bug, when…you get the idea. Mom and Dad were in one room upstairs and Ev was in the other. Everyone was quiet but waking up for the day. Mom’s phone dinged with an incoming message, and through the doors, across the hallway, they heard Ev gasp. It’s really quite amusing.

What’s also amusing is Ev’s new way of getting around. She’ll be 14 months next week and is showing maybe a 5% interest in walking. Her cousin has been walking since they were 11 months and they’ve been together many times. I keep thinking that Ev will watch him and think, ‘hmm, that’s a cool way to get around.’ Nope, she just charges after him on all fours. (No complaints here). She perhaps seems to be a bit more comfortable maneuvering around furniture but the new thing is walking on her knees. She moves about five inches in 30 seconds and gets nowhere fast. She seems to think she’s big stuff and it makes me laugh.

And speaking of laughter, I was making dinner the other night and after a couple minutes of listening to Evelyn and Wes giggling uproariously, I finally left the stove to see what was so funny. I found them on the stairs playing a game of tug a war with Ev’s blanket. Ev was about in hysterics.

DSC_0001I may have mentioned this once or twice or a thousand times, but they’re kinda my favorites.IMG_4993.JPGHugs and love and prayers to you.

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in baby, Happiness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a day in the life.

  1. All of this action and only a few doors from my main abode. It won’t be long till the weather breaks and I’ll hear Ev gasp through the open window or I’ll meet up with her walking down our little lane. If you turn around for just a minute, she’ll be all grown up and walking out the door with a handsome fella. (like her handsome Dad)

Leave a Reply

