a touch of illness and a dose of thanksgiving.

Well. I do believe that was the sickest I’ve been in over a decade. The last time I felt like a train was running through my body was when I was 14. This time it took about six hours before I could figure out how to keep water down. It was rather awful.

In the midst of that was a heavy dose of thankfulness. We now live five minutes away from Wesley’s work instead of twenty. Wes has a job where he can pretty much drop everything and come home to take care of Evelyn. And if he couldn’t, there’s many people I could call to step in. And that is a wonderful feeling. I said an incoherent prayer for any mothers with the flu with no one to call before drifting back off into mindlessness.

Wes plugged in The Thief Lord for me and I listened to the whole thing from start to finish. Simon Jones has an incredibly comforting voice. Between that and drifting off to sleep, I’d hear giggles and visiting coming from the living room. Ev occasionally came by to wave at me but she was having a pretty good day with her dad.

We missed a family bash with relatives from afar but Ev got to go for a few hours. Wes dropped her off, then came back to feed popsicles to the sick and afflicted.  I hear she had a good time but when Wes went back to pick her up she fell apart upon seeing him. After hugs and love she was good to go, but it reminded me…

When I was 14, we had just moved from the Bay Area to the Central Coast and for one month, my dad had to work Monday through Friday away from our new home. It felt awful. After a couple weeks of this, he came home late on a Friday night, and upon seeing him, I fell apart. The relief and assurance that Dad was finally home just overwhelmed me. And after hugs and love, I was fine. (Probably still a touch sensitive.;)

And I look at the relationship I had/have with my dad and the relationship that Wes is building with Ev and I am filled with gratefulness. As in, my cup is full and overflowing.

DCIM100MEDIA(Wes came in last night to show me the dozens of pictures he’d taken with his drone. They made me happy. And laugh).

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a touch of illness and a dose of thanksgiving.

  1. Melissa says:

    Oh no! I’m so sorry you got the flu! That is not fun anytime, but especially when you are expecting. I hope you are doing better now!! Hopefully no one else gets it too.

Leave a Reply

