various and sundry.

After six years of surviving Virginia winters, we finally broke down and bought flannel sheets. I have no idea why it took us this long.

I was getting my hair done and Wes and Ev were shopping in Target when he sent me a display picture of flannel sheets, then informed me that he’d chosen the red plaid. I texted back, ‘Wes. Think about our room. Is there any thing remotely red in it?’.

‘Oh. Ok, I got the gray ones.’

‘Do those have Christmas trees all over them?’ I asked, not sure I was feeling quite that festive.

‘Nope.’ he said. ‘Evergreens.’

I now sleep on a bed of evergreens.IMG_4856.JPG
And I love it. Although after nearly dying of a heat stroke the first two nights, we switched out pillow cases and set our heat on 64. Our lovely little wood stove heats up the basement and warmth comes flooding up the stairs straight into Ev’s little space. So we’re all snug as bugs in a rug. And marvel at how much better this lovely little house handles cold versus the daffodil house. We love it here.

It was 70 degrees on Monday and today is Wednesday. It’s snowing.

Last week I was battling a cold and low energy and marveling to Wes at how incredibly easy Evelyn is. For example, here’s a normal days schedule. Wake up and have a banana with Dad. Dad puts Ev back in crib and she wakes back up around 10:30. Have breakfast with Mom. Play for maybe an hour. Take a nap. Eat lunch. Play for an hour and a half. Another long nap. Wake up, eat a snack. Play. Last nap around 5:30. Eat dinner. And bed around 8:30, 9:00. All the while being this adorable happy girl.

Then two days after this marveling, she got my cold. Not so marvelous.

Then the next day, Wes woke up with fever.

The three of us went through three boxes of tissues. It was such a blast. But. We’re so glad it was last week and not this week because Poppi and Megee fly in tomorrow! Woot. I am planning on kicking back.IMG_4867.JPG

Last night I asked Wes if he thought it was weird that I often sorta white out going up the stairs to the second floor. He started talking about elevation change and blood levels and I started chuckling. Then said I guessed I could double check with my doctor.

He paused then said, ‘Just make sure she knows your not the get up and go to the gym in the morning type person.’

And that really struck my funny bone. Such a polite way of saying, ‘yeah. you’re weak sauce.’

So props to all you people who make yourselves exercise. I often think about pretending to be you. I’ve even considered putting a treadmill in my basement but then think about how incredibly depressing it would be to exercise in the the dark and I should just go outside. And then I survey the winter landscape and say, ‘ha, yeah right.’ Then curl up in front of my electric fireplace and play blocks.

I suppose I could start by spending more time on the stairs. But I actually spend a lot of time on them already. Sitting. Halfway up as I spot Ev who likes to show me what a gymnast she is.

I’ll let you know if I come up with another good plan.

And I think that’s all for now folks.

Hugs.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to various and sundry.

  1. Melissa says:

    Oh Kelsey you make me laugh! Glad you all are feeling better, I have thought of you this week. I well remember how not fun it was to have a sick baby. Enjoy your parents visit!

Leave a Reply

