last year i was pregnant…what?

So yeah. 365 days ago, I had a nice melon hanging off the front of me.  You may remember me posting this picture.photo (6)Several people thought it was a lizard on a rock but no, just getting harder to see my feet around my belly.

Evelyn turns one this week and people have asked how that feels. Honestly it feels weirder to think I was sporting around that belly a year ago than that Evelyn is almost one. She kinda feels like she’s always been with us. That it’s only been one year is a little surprising.

So a year ago today, I was determined to finish up a blanket that I had started crocheting five years previously.  For two solid days, I stitched up the dumb thing. I knew it would be something I would never do after having a baby and I figured it would be a good project as I didn’t want to get too prepared with a full freezer and spotless house and then wait for weeks for the bebe. I finished the blanket on Tuesday, then Wednesday did some cooking and tidying up. Then Thursday went in for my 37 week check up. And then had Evelyn. What?

In the days and week after, the thing I was most hormonal about was Evelyn growing up. My mom has this picture of her and dad holding me soon after I was born and its often been on her nightstand and I was just like, ‘oh my gosh, my mom was holding me and now I’m holding my baby and I’m going to blink and she’s going to be holding her baby, and oh my gosh!!’.

I finally had to tell myself, ‘Kelsey. You are going to enjoy Evelyn just as much tomorrow as you do today.’

And it’s so true. We seem to just have more and more fun together. Of course there are the days when things just aren’t going well, teeth problems, cold problems, etc but I adore the interactions we have.  Waving is so much fun, only to be outdone by games of hide and seek around the couch. Chasing Gladys around the yard is a true highlight along with facetiming my parents and jabbering ever so loudly.

She’s a doll and I’m grateful for the time we’ve shared.

009_K0264Evelyn 017_K0264Evelyn 001_K0264Evelyn 060_K0264Evelyn 055_K0264Evelyn 036_K0264Evelyn 066_K0264Evelyn 078_K0264Evelyn(Thanks to Lisa Maksoudian Photography for these lovely portraits. She’s taken my senior pictures, our engagement pictures, wedding pictures and it seemed fitting that she’d finally get to take Evelyn’s pictures).

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in baby. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to last year i was pregnant…what?

  1. Raen says:

    Enjoyed your pictures, Kelsey. They turned out really well. It is amazing how fast time flies with the kids. While we have some trying moments, we have lots of fun ones too. Kids are good for me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

