pass it to the girl.

So remember that week where I wasn’t falling to sleep? Good news is that I’m very much on Virginia time and its no longer a two hour task to fall to sleep. woot.

Other news is that I wrote lots of stories in my head that week. Not sure if that’s good, bad or indifferent, but this one makes me grin and I feel like it should be recorded.

I was twelve, had just entered the sixth grade, and was at the height of my basketball career. I played on girls teams and on boys teams, REC and MVP.

IMG_4628.JPG
I was also 5’10” which possibly had something to do with my success on the court. (heh). There was only one person taller than me in the sixth grade. He also played basketball and naturally, I had a huge crush on him.

I was tall and gangly and probably a bit awkward but every day after eating lunch at school, I’d run down to the gym, grab a basketball, find a free court and work on my shot all the while surreptitiously watching the boys play basketball. It was three on three and a line formed to play the winning team. I wondered how long it would take to get my courage up to go stand in that line.

About a month or two into this process, one boy passed by and told me I had a nice shot. (Same boy that ‘helped’ me break a classroom window the following year). With that encouragement, I decided the time was nigh. And one lunch soon thereafter, I got in line, much to the chagrin of the two boys who were forced to be part of my team.

We got on to the court and it was essentially two on three. I stood off in the corner, blatantly wide open while the two boys on my team passed the basketball back and forth trying to get near the hoop; a difficult task as one was always double teamed.

And then the chanting started from the sidelines. ‘The girl! The girl! Pass it to the girl!’.

Ha. Still makes me laugh.

With much reluctance, one boy passed it to me. And I drove in and made a lay-up. Woot! Best feeling ever.

Thus cementing my place on the lunch basketball court. I even got to play with my crush several times, once spraining my ankle rather terribly as I jumped to block his shot and landed on his ankle.

How romantic.

Ahh. Middle school memories. They’re not all bad.

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to pass it to the girl.

  1. faithfulreader says:

    It sounds like you owe your readers a story about the broken classroom window.

Leave a Reply

