duck duck goose.

I dreamed last night that I was on a sailboat, floating along, listening to the lapping of the water on the boat.

I always have these dreams after being on the water. This on wasn’t quite as relaxing as normal because when you’re sailing, you often have to shift your weight around to remain stable.  So there was a lot of twitching involved.IMG_4608.JPG

But yeah. It was awesome. We’ve been in Duck, North Carolina the past five days and ended the trip by taking the sailboats into the ocean. I had seen dolphins go shooting by and I was dying to  go frolic with them. For some reason, dolphins are like a promise of God’s love to me. Maybe because they’re the darling of the sea? Or that I feel safe from sharks when they’re about? Or because they look so joyful? At any rate, we sailed about three miles before we found them. And then I just squealed and squealed as they came over to say hi. We sailed back with them, watching them surge out of the water, listening to them breath and just having a blast. I stood up by the mast most of the way so I could keep a good look out for them and pretty much felt like Captain Jack Sparrow.

So it was a pretty awesome way to end the trip. Not that the other days weren’t lovely. We had spectacular weather and Evelyn loved the beach.IMG_4603.JPGIMG_4601.JPGIMG_4602.JPG

She kept herself quite entertained with various shells, sifting sand, and waving at the birds.

IMG_4604.JPG

High on the list of entertainment was watching her and her cousin finally interact. They were so funny as they jabbered to each other, chased each other around, tried to shut each other in cabinets, played king of the mountain on guitar cases and the list goes on.IMG_4593.JPGThey’re delight to see each other after a nap was pretty adorable.

Duck’s a pretty cool town. I think this is the first time I’ve stayed there. (You may remember our last excursion to the Banks if you’ve been here awhile.) Fun boardwalk along the town. Nice trails for biking or walking, and a great view while dining.

IMG_4605.JPG

IMG_4606.JPG

IMG_4611.JPGIt was lovely.

Until next time.

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in baby, family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to duck duck goose.

  1. Peggy says:

    Yes took my girls to Duck many times over those 30 odds years in MD. A very special place. I follow your post and enjoy them so much. I think I had first mentioned to you 45 yrs ago I left CA and married a Wesley only from MD. I can relive so many experiences in your post from the eye of a Central Valley girl to the mid eastern shores. Enjoy your life.

  2. Peggy says:

    I’m back in CA for good, although I do visit my daughter that lives in OC MD and other in laws . Just love reading your posts and seeing Evelyn’s growth. I can see you are enjoying your life and your posts always bring a smile, even dear Gladys

  3. aw, you’re sweet :). poor gladys doesn’t get much blog time any more but is very adored by evelyn. and lucky you, back in Cali! 😉

Leave a Reply

