virginia time.

I sometimes wonder if anyone else has a harder time falling asleep than I do. Dumb question, I’m sure. My dad can’t turn his brain off at night. From the sounds of it, my Grama gets maybe five house of sleep at night. And she’s told me that her mom couldn’t stand going to bed.

So last week I had my genetics, a three hour time difference from California, and a Nook going against me. (Mom got me a Nook for my birthday. Not sure how smart of a gift it was but I’ve sure enjoyed it).  Even after I’d turn the dumb thing off, all I’d do was counter clockwise circles. First face Wes. Then face the ceiling. Then the door. Then my pillow. Then Wes. Then Wes would jolt up and start patting the bed and ask me where Evelyn was. (Every single night since we’ve been home). And I’d tell him she’s in her crib. Then he’d crash back down. Then I’d face the ceiling.

It was pretty tortuous.  I went to bed at nine on Saturday so I could fall to sleep by eleven which would be an enormous improvement. I did the whole counter clockwise roll for an hour. Then I started singing songs in my head, then realize they were inapprope songs from pitch perfect. So I switched over to How Great is Our God. Then I started praying. Then I started counting my breaths.

I told Wes about in the next morning and he told me I had problems. Heh.

So anyways, not really sure what the point of all that was except I wrote the whole thing in my head last night while trying to go to sleep. (As are most blog posts written). And if I’m not quite on Virginia time yet, I’m at least on Texas time.

And because we can’t have a whole post without mentioning Evelyn…She’s finally figured out this whole waving business. (Her grandma’s been trying to teach her for the past few months). So yesterday we ate lunch together and waved at each other and laughed at how cool we were. It was pretty adorable.

photo (6)
Alright. Good day to you all. I hope your Tuesday is pleasant and bright with many sweet dreams tonight.

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in baby, Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to virginia time.

  1. LSM says:

    Cute little fedora she’s wearing!

  2. Melissa says:

    You are too funny! Love Evelyn’s hat, she looks so cute!! My dad has sleep issues too. He takes a melatonin supplement and says it really helps!

  3. I have had a few sleep issues, partly from pain, and have found that if I take a very warm bath right before bedtime that I fall asleep quickly and sleep amazingly well. I read the suggestion in some of my R.N. literature where it said that the change in body temperature is what is helpful about the bath. I do recall when I taught about parenting that it was suggested for a baby just prior to bedtime. Aha !!!

Leave a Reply

