birthdays, ballrooms, and baby

Last week was just fantastic.

photo 5

We’ll start with the baby. We have a new way of communicating. One of us sticks out our tongue and blows, making the ‘tbthh’ noise, and the other responds. Over and over and over. She is so tickled with herself about this and naturally, so am I.

We went to her nine month checkup (on the day she turned ten months) and so much for that growth spurt I thought was occurring. I’ve heard from many people, ‘Wow she is tall!’, and I did think she was perhaps realizing some of that genetic potential but she measured in at 26 inches putting her in the 7th percentile. So still a bit of ground to gain. I was wrong on weight as well, 16.2 pounds (11th percentile). So as I carry her around in all the airports tomorrow (woot!!!! leaving for California!) I will feel better that she’s not the 20 pounds she sometimes feels like.

photo 1

Next up…ballrooms! Oh my word. Wesley and I have started taking ballroom dancing lessons. And while I know I’ve had loads of fun doing all sorts of things, I can’t remember the last time I’ve had such a blast. We did one group lesson and one private lesson last week and I just couldn’t contain my exuberance-I laughed almost the whole time.

Dad taught me a little two step when I was little and I always loved twirling around. There’s a gigantic chess board in Morro Bay and I’d always want him dance with me on it. So while I’m no dancing queen, I have moved my feet to music before. Not so much with Wes. This makes me think he is an absolute champ for adventuring out with me and I’ve told him several times that I think he’s pretty awesome for getting out of his comfort zone and swinging me around.

Evelyn goes to bed around nine so we’ll put her down, then come out to our carpeted living room, try to find an appropriate rhythm and then practice our rumba, hustle, and foxtrot. Often times we find ourselves collapsed on the couch laughing our heads off at our moves (or lack thereof). It’s been such a hoot.

And lastly, birthdays. I had one last week. And I got to spend the whole day with my two favorites.

photo 2

Evelyn was an absolute doll all day and my heart was full with the blessings of them both.

photo 3

It was the perfect end to a top ten week.

photo 4

And we, of course, finished the day by dancing on the living room carpet.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in baby, best of, Happiness, Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to birthdays, ballrooms, and baby

  1. Leah Corle says:

    When I need a good laugh, I head over to your blog! Thanks for your part in my life! I have a piece of mail that wants to go into your cute little mural mailbox… Can you share you address with me?
    Have a great day!!!
    Leah

Leave a Reply

