summer news.

I should first begin to note that this has been such a crazy Virginia summer. Like, it’s been enjoyable! Ha. What I mean is that there seems to have been so many spectacular days with no humidity. Which is really weird and really lovely. We’ve had some fun evenings with friends..

IMG_4086

This picture makes me laugh. ‘Um, can I have a seat at the table?’ questions Gladys.

There’s been lots of basking outside time.

IMG_4014(Ev really enjoys pool days).

And not too many of these days.

IMG_4315

And yes, Evelyn seems to be getting so big these days. Partly due to the amount of food she eats. Breakfast consists of a huge bowl of oatmeal, yogurt and half a banana mixed together. And then after all that I get this face when I start to eat my breakfast.

IMG_4317

Such a fusser. Still hasn’t got the whole full belly memo. So this is definitely a favorite hang out spot.

IMG_4231

I’ve been trying to tell her that she doesn’t need to fuss for food, just go pat the fridge and I’ll get her something. Hasn’t really got that memo either.

Another favorite past time is the book shelf.

IMG_4299

I pack the books in so tight that even I have trouble removing one so she usually doesn’t make too much damage. She has her favorites that she likes to read and especially enjoys sampling the flavors of each.

Thanks to facebook, I saw that one high school friend was flying across the country to visit another high school friend and jumped on the bandwagon. Wes kindly drove Ev and I up to the DC area and the five of us ate lunch together and caught up on the highlights of the past six years.

IMG_4323

It was fun to introduce them to Ev and hear about what’s been going on in their lives. One of them works next door to Davey and said they occasionally bump into each other but she never knows what to call him; she only knows him as Davey but thinks that all his Art’s guys know him as David. I was like, ‘heh, holler out, ‘hi Davvveeeyy.”

And lastly, I didn’t know so many of you were hydrangea fans. I posted this on Instagram a couple days ago. It’s in my neighbors yard and is pretty amazing.

IMG_4331

So impressive. I learned from my MIL that you can grow starts from the clippings so I plan on being real helpful to my neighbor in the pruning department this winter.

Oh, one more thing. My mom told me she’d received something in the mail and sent me this picture.

IMG_4351

So basically my Grampa is adorable and awesome. Eighty-eight years old and still surprising Grama with gifts.

It’s been a good summer folks. Love to you and yours.

 

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in baby, family, Happiness, Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

