let me count the ways.

How we adore this new place of ours. First of all, I have a mural on my mailbox.
photo (2)
Imagine my horror when Wes mentioned that he wanted to paint the whole thing a shiny new black. I was like, ‘Wes! That’s my favorite part of the house!’.

Secondly, we live on this quiet road with a post office at the end. It was established in 1828 and it’s retail hours are Monday thru Friday, 10-12. It’s always unlocked because of the PO Boxes and one side is completely full of antiques that I guess are up for sale?
photo 1I walked 1/8 a mile to my post office to change my mailing address and met my first neighbor, Jacklyn, owner of the Old Rose Tavern. She very quickly welcomed me into the neighborhood, gave me a run down of the area, walked me home and gave me her telephone number. She’s been a nurse for 42 years and has lived in, I believe 32 places around the world. (She was a nurse in the army at one point).

I also met Alex at the Post Office. He informed me that Madison has five rivers that flow out of it so when the great drought comes, we will have water.

This place is better than I originally thought.

If I walk 1/8 a mile the other direction, I come to this view.

photo 2
Another reason to adore this place.

A big win is Wesley coming home for lunch every single day. Evelyn’s thrilled. I’m thrilled that Evelyn’s thrilled. It breaks up our day so wonderfully.

DSC_0065A couple days after I met Jacklyn, Jennifer came over to introduce herself and brought over a flower arrangement and a whole bag of bathtime stuff for Evelyn. Then she told me to come over for a spot of tea any time. And I was like, ‘I love this place!!’. Incidentally, she runs an air b&b so I’ve got lots of places to send overflow guests.

I sent my dad some pictures of Ev and I outstide and he asked if I was at a park. ‘That would be my yard,’ I responded, with way too much pleasure I’m sure.

IMG_3987
We drove around the country one fine evening and I oohed and ahhed at the lovely scenery, then we ended up in our small downtown for a dinner on the patio. And it was just the best.

IMG_4005We’re having way too much fun.

Come hang with us!

IMG_3991

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in baby, best of, Happiness. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to let me count the ways.

  1. LOVE this post…so inviting, intriguing and amazing!!! I think I might just have to come see you dear friend.

  2. dbowiniii says:

    Nice post. I haven’t talked to you in ages. I do miss you all.

    Love you.

    Dad

    David Bowin (925) 997-5961

    >

  3. Auntie Stace says:

    Can’t wait to see the new abode! I can tell I’m going to love it.

Leave a Reply

