let me be singing.

Oh wow.

First things first, our house closed. Yesterday. Wesley and I breathed a huge sigh of relief and slid a little deeper into our house in the hills.

And yes, we’re living in a house!

It’s amazing and I thought I’d take a brief glimpse at the past few months to see how we got here.

In February, Wes and I were like, ‘we should sell our house and rent on some amazing farm and not have to think about harry homeowner stuff.’

So we put our house on the market in April, and had a contract on it 4 days later. Our amazing farm idea didn’t work out so we said, ‘dude! Let’s go get my parents airstream and live in that during the summer and go camping in cool places! Adventure!’

And then we started looking at homes for sale, and saying, ‘Wow. Check this place out.’ I would browse the dives and Wes would scope out the homes hundreds of thousands of dollars above our price range. And I would peer over the ipad at him and say, ‘Really? Why are you looking at that?’ And he’d grin and we’d browse some more.

But we didn’t want to get attached or even start to buy anything until our house closed.

All these ideas were taking us closer and closer to May 28th, closing day. So we, perhaps a bit frantically, started browsing craigslist and Realtor apps looking for rentals to temporary move into. We had decided that we did want to buy a home in Madison.

So few rentals, all seemingly sketchy. And so the week before closing, I was kinda majorly stressing. Way too many decisions, way too much still up in the air, everything was happening the at the last minute on our house and it was just too much. So we made the decision. We are just going to move into the parents trailer, and then buy one for ourselves the following week and continue to look for homes to purchase.

Gosh. This is becoming a book.

Closing date was shoved to May 30th because pumping the septic was taking place on May 28th. I hadn’t packed a stitch because I was not going to put myself through that if something was wrong. I had some lovely worker bees signed up for the moment we got the clear on the septic. I was incredibly stressed the night before, but kept telling myself, ‘the worst thing that could happen is that the septic tank would blow up.’ I’ve since been informed that septics generally don’t blow up.

I fell asleep to this song and woke up with the prayer that, ‘whatever may pass and whatever lies before me, let me be singing when the evening comes.’.

And that seems like a good cliff hanger.

I’ll be back shortly.

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Life as it Happens, Our Story. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

