bust. (travel problems and meltdowns)

Basically, Texas weather can be of great inconvenience.

Here’s my two on day one of attempted leave of Texas.

IMG_3803And here’s Dad at midnight that night rocking Evelyn to sleep.

IMG_3806Our alarm clocks went off at four am and we awoke to see our flight had been delayed until 9 am. Four in the morning is a very hard time to make good decisions but we eventually decided that if we were ever going to leave Texas we might as well get a head start and go while the shuttle was already taking mom and dad.

Then missed connections. Missed standbys. Way to much time hanging out in airports.

IMG_3808 IMG_3812 IMG_3815

And finally a flight to Charlottesville fifteen hours later. Only they couldn’t figure out how to shut the blasted door. So the above picture is us deplaning while they worked on it. Poor Evelyn did so well. I always just lay her down for naps so I wasn’t really sure how nap times would go at the airport. She’d fight for a while but eventually give up. We were all running on less than four hours of sleep. It was awful.

About an hour after deplaning, they got us on another flight and mercifully, we departed Atlanta. Ev was conked out the first half. And then boom. Not really sure if she was even awake but oh what noise. I tried everything and nothing would calm her down. Wes took her in the [tiny] bathroom and the stewardess came over to me, hugged me and asked me what was wrong. I tearfully told her we’d been up since four (now 10 pm) and I was exhausted and my baby was too).

She said fear not, I’m a grandmother and we do this all the time. Then she banged on bathroom door, took Ev from Wes and bounced her up to the front of the plane. We were the last row and occasionally would peer towards the front to see how things were going. Ev calmed down for a minute or two and then it was time for descent. And that lovely stewardess got on the intercom and oh so cheerfully told us to prepare for arrival, fasten our seat belts, put our chairs in the upright position and secure our tables. All the while bouncing a shrieking Evelyn.  I had to laugh.

Ev came back to us and by the time we landed was sitting up cooing and smiling at everyone.

Go figure. IMG_3816

Nice to be home.

Except I’m trying not to think about where home is. Because I don’t know.

And maybe I’ll have more details on that later!

(That would be so great).

Cheers.

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to bust. (travel problems and meltdowns)

  1. darlene harrison says:

    This brings it all back. I remember traveling with infants or toddlers (sorry it doesn’t get easier for a while yet.)

  2. dbowiniii says:

    Love the picture of Evelyn the Ostrich.

  3. your mother says:

    I’m glad Evelyn is playing with her “educational owl”. Just wait till I get her summer “work books” just like yours and Davey’s!! : )

Leave a Reply

