texas or bust.

We did have a bust. But that was on the way home. So I’ll chronicle the good stuff first.

My cousin Brookie got married last weekend and the whole family (minus Uncle Davey, sniff sniff) got together to celebrate the occasion. It was so fun to see everyone.

We flew into Dallas 20 minutes after my parents and it was so fun to meet up at the airport. They, of course, had a little present for Evelyn and Mom soon whisked her away to give it to her. I’ve told them several times, ‘Ev has about 100 stuffed animals, she needs no more stuffed animals.’ So, naturally, it was a stuffed animal.

IMG_3758

I was informed that this one was, ‘educational.’ And we all love mr. owl and his melodious rattle.

Riding around with Ev and my parents and listening to all the baby talk and Evelyn cooing back is always a blast-so fun to be together.

IMG_3764

We stayed at Grams and usually Evelyn and Gram got some quality time in the morning while we got some quality time in with our pillows. Thanks Gram.

IMG_3766I love this picture. Such a cheesy, ‘I really need to go back to sleep’, face.

Every day we’d pack up and go over to Phil and Amanda’s where my parents were staying and partake in whatever activities were going on there. Lots of swinging, walks to the park, good food and great people.

IMG_3770 IMG_3769 IMG_3810 IMG_3800 IMG_3811 Ev was such a champ with all the running and gunning-no nap times, in and out of the car all day, lots of new people and craziness.

Speaking of craziness, we arrived at Brookes wedding in true David and Phillip fashion. It really couldn’t have been more classic of the two of them. A new toll road opened up the day of the wedding that would cut our commute time in half. Wedding started at seven o clock and we got started a little late, (classic) and drove to the toll road at 6:09. To find it closed. We were following Phillip and it was just so funny as his car just kinda stopped as we all stared at the blockaded entrance. You could almost see the wheels turn in the minds of driver Phil-‘hmmm. crud’.

Hoping against hope, we drove the opposite direction of the wedding to see if another entrance to the toll road was opened. No such luck. Phil motioned us forward and with the funniest face of chagrin said, ‘uh guys, it’s quite a distance without the toll road. We’re going to be pretty late.’ I hollered out the window, ‘Ceremony doesn’t start til 7! Go, go, go!’

And off we pealed. Phil nearly lost us on all the highways and byways but after shaving 8 minutes off our ETA according to Siri we squealed in at 6:59. It was rather amazing and I pretty much shook my head the entire drive.

The wedding was beautiful and funniest part was the twins hollering out during the ceremony, ‘airplane! airplane!’. They’re adorable.

IMG_3794
IMG_3789IMG_3797

These little cherubs are three days apart and were both excited to get out of their fluffy dresses.

IMG_3805

Anything else? Great to be with mom on mother’s day and have Ev with us.

IMG_3778 IMG_3779 IMG_3777Hugs and love.

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in baby, family, Happiness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to texas or bust.

  1. your mother says:

    Gosh we really did have a great few days, ah yes such a good Mothers Day! Thanks to Brookie there was a wedding and you 3 were able to make it. Love the pictures!

Leave a Reply

