you don’t have to yell.

I love that song. I tried singing the chorus to Ev last night. Mercifully, she’s not much of a holler-er, just a fusser. If you have a screamer, first let me give you a hug, then pray for your patience and peace of mind. Then recommend that you sing ‘You don’t have to yell‘, to your baby. It may amuse you as you pretend that you can reason with your screaming baby. It kinda worked for me around midnight last night. At least it made Wes snort as Ev loudly let us know what she thought of going to bed.

Actually, this song came on my Chris Rice radio station after about a year of absence and I remembered how much I loved it’s quiet brilliance. Sorta makes me think of when Daniel and his friends asked if they could skip the kings food and eat veggies and water instead. Then they just did it without a bunch of hollering and let the results speak for themselves. That perhaps is a very loose correlation and enough philosophy for the day.

We’ve had a few spring days and wow, they’ve been glorious. I’ve almost forgotten what it feels like to just bask in the sun.

IMG_3545

Evelyn was pretty tickled to bust out her spring bloomers.

Wes got his wisdom teeth out on Friday; it went a lot smoother than either one of us thought so that was a blessing. I was unsure of how playing nurse was going to be and tried not to think about complications during the procedure. It was really sad when they wheeled him out to me but soon after I was trying to hide my smile as Wes was seriously telling me about different things through grunts and sign language. He’s doing great, just really ready for a burger.

And in other news, we put our house on the market this weekend. The sign went up on Thursday and I texted Wes, ‘um. we have a sign in our yard. not sure how i feel about this.’ ‘hmm. weird,’ he said, ‘probably what people feel like when they get put on eharmony.’

I about died. Never have been on eharmony but no doubt, there has to be connections. A little excited, looking forward to the future and adventure with a heavy dose of oh no what I have I done. I’m not sure where he comes up with some stuff.

I was planning on the house not doing anything so I could peacefully enjoy my favorite seasons here but it started off with a bang. We shall see what comes of it. Mom says the hardest part is living in limbo. I told her I was not planning on living in limbo, just living in a clean house enjoying each day. And we shall see how long that lasts. Yesterday I felt like if I breathed wrong I would upset my spectacularly clean home. So I left.

And we’ll wrap this up with some more synchronized sleeping. Here’s to hoping this night is better than lasts.
IMG_3544Love to you and yours.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in baby, Life as it Happens, Our Story. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to you don’t have to yell.

  1. melissa says:

    Really hope Little Miss starts sleeping better for you!! Hope Wes is feeling better too!

  2. Cute post, Kels! Ev is a doll.

    I hear you on the middle-of-the-night-grouchies. 🙂 I remember sighing loudly and barking at times. And countless times I remember crying out to God for grace and strength to have patience to deal with the little ones.

    (P.S. LOVE the song. I enjoy a good, sophisticated debate. I’m not exactly sure why, but I do. But I don’t want to be known as a yeller.)

    • oh i adore debates. and many times i think i am spot on. (my friends and fam could corroborate that). and many things are worth the fight. but louder doesn’t make you right. gosh. love it. (i don’t know you as a yeller. fyi 😉

  3. Raen says:

    Evelyn is quite cute! I can’t wait to meet her. Hope your house sells just so you’ll come out here and celebrate. 🙂 I had to laugh out loud at Wes’ eHarmony comment! Enjoy your spring!

Leave a Reply

