it was a birdie.

We’ve had a few wintery days.

present from jane bers 015

Evelyn didn’t seem to mind.
present from jane bers 001

Little cherub.present from jane bers 004

We introduced her to The Piano Guys one chilly day. Ev has decided that she is going to learn how to play the cello. (Seriously, these guys are amazing. I love their duets, except with five people, whatever that is). (And their behind the scenes videos are just as fun).

present from jane bers 012

Ev is not always sure about bath time.
IMG_2640She is, however, always sure about eating time.

IMG_2631

Adorbs.

Dana gave me ‘On the Night You Were Born’.december with ev 004

It’s our favorite bedtime book.december with ev 001

And we usually end with The Boat Song.december with ev 009

So. Tomorrow Evie will be seven weeks old. Her latest trick is what they call ‘cluster feeding’. It’s awful and it’s wonderful. She seriously eats all evening long. All evening. She actually let us eat dinner together last night. And after that peaceful picture above, she slept from ten to eleven. And then I seriously fed her from 11-12:45 with two ten minute breaks where I fell into bed only to swing myself back out at her wailing.

At 12:50, when she started crying again, I told Wes, ‘I’ve been feeding her since 11. Have at it.’

I think he got her back to sleep in 5 minutes. I might be requiring his expertise more often.

So the wonderful part of this cluster feeding? I heard her start crying in the middle of the night, rolled over and checked my phone and saw it was 5:58. This is big news people. This means that I slept five solid hours since who knows when. Before pregnancy since I got up 100 times a night to go to the bathroom.

Wes had told me his alarm clock was going off at 5:30 but when I checked, he was still in bed. (Funny how you can hear your babe in the other room but can handily tune out the dumb alarm clock). So I asked him if he would bring her to me.

‘Sure,’ he said.

Pause. Silence. No movement. His alarm went off again.

‘If you really want a par for the course, you could change her diaper,’ I said.

‘No,’ he replied, ‘that would be under par. That would be a birdie.’

I don’t know if that strikes your funny bone but it sure tickled mine at six am; how golf terminology was coming to us in the wee hours of the morning in reference to our baby. When I told Wes today he said, ‘Huh? Was there something about a birdie?’

Gosh. It still makes me laugh.

Ev definitely got a birdie, she only ate half course at 6, then slept til 9 (!) which makes me think that one day she may sleep through the night! Woot.

It’s been rich.

And I’d end with a golf pun if I could think of one.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in baby, family, Happiness, Our Story. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to it was a birdie.

  1. Auntie Stace says:

    I love the Boat Song. But I really would like to see a video of you and Wes singing to Ev. šŸ™‚

  2. Terri says:

    Those pictures of Evelyn sleeping are so peaceful.
    But in the one of her milk face, she looks so smug, pleased with herself…..ahhhh, a nice full tummy. So cute.

  3. Sherri Cotten says:

    Love it, Kels. I had never heard the boat song – its adorable! Evelyn is so precious. I’m glad you are enjoying the moments. Love you all!

  4. lsm says:

    The first picture after the cold snowy one is positively adorable!!! Glad you’re enjoying the little cherub.

  5. Darlene says:

    Ahh. I remember those days… They rearrange your whole evening on into the night. They pass. I promise. I think one key to being content is being thankful.

Leave a Reply

