God’s greatest gifts.

One of my friends recently posted a picture that said, ‘some of God’s greatest gifts are unanswered prayers.’

I’ve heard this all my life but I’ve either never thought about it long enough to make an application or just have never felt that I could come up with one. And I saw this quote twice last week and all the sudden went, ‘whoa.’

I prayed for weeks for Ev to flip. And I had friends fervently praying for her as well. I finally got to the place where I realized I was sounding like a broken record in my prayers and said, ok God, you know my hearts desire, help me just rest in that you know what you’re doing.

But I still wanted her to flip.

She didn’t. And maybe she would have been one of those 2% to flip in the final weeks. But she didn’t. And I don’t know why. But I do know the cord was wrapped around her neck twice which may have contributed to her position and that she wasn’t growing much. And I do know that the Dr. said after delivering her that she had plenty of room to flip. But she didn’t.

As I saw that quote and thought about my unanswered prayers, I was overwhelmed all over again with knee-shaking gratefulness for the bebe in my arms. Overwhelmed.

And then I thought about the quote more. And realized that some of the prayers I’d fervently prayed a few years ago had gone unanswered. And I thought about what God’s been doing around and in me since then.

And I was kinda blown away again by these unanswered prayers of mine and the gifts resulting.

So I guess I write this in hopes to remind myself that God knows what he’s doing. It might take a week or two or a year or four for me to realize the gifts that He’s giving in not answering my prayers. Or I may never understand. But I hope I’ll be able to trust more, rest more, fight less.

IMG_4019

(Our favorite thing to do.)

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in baby, Our Story. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to God’s greatest gifts.

  1. Terri says:

    Kelsey, You have a little doll there! Congratulations to you and Wes.
    I think you ‘hit the nail on the head’ when you said ‘the Lord knows our heart’s desire’. He works with that and what He knows is best for us and in His time He makes all things beautiful.

  2. Jill says:

    Love this! Reminds me of the Laura Story song, “Blessings”. What can sometimes seem so contrary to how I might solve a situation is often the very essence of a change God is bringing about in me.

  3. Darlene says:

    Thank you. I needed this encouragement. I have prayed for some things for years and nothing seems to be happening. I just know what I ask for is God’s will. …right?… Slowly my mind is bending around new thoughts and ideas (I wish it would hurry up!) (Maybe I don’t.)

  4. Pingback: jack’s birth story. | A Story of Us

Leave a Reply

