evelyn’s birth story.

Promise this’ll be PG guys.

So after the emotions of my last appointment, I informed Wes that he would be going with me to all my remaining appointments, especially this one as we’d be scheduling the cesarean. I had my birth plan and questions for the Dr. but I wasn’t sure if I could get through it without crying.

There were so many little God moments this day. Like Wes coming with me. And he was late meeting me and so as I waited at the gas station I noticed that we were sorta low on gas. I figured what the heck, I’ll be a big girl and get a full tank of gas while I wait for him.

We went in to our appointment and the Dr. couldn’t be sure what the baby’s position was and told us they’d give us a call when a spot opened up for an ultrasound.

So we did errands in town that now seem hilarious. Went to Brown’s automotive to get the hatch working in our car. Had a little date at Chipotle and celebrated by drinking a coke after a few months of being coke-free. I was very set on buying some hair bands from Anthropologie so we went there next. After the ultrasound we were planning on stocking up on groceries so I could further stock our freezer, then hit up Target to get the rest of things we needed for the bebe. Oh, and maybe buy an iPad for the shop.

Little did we know. I kept telling Wes, ‘Wes, I don’t want to tell anyone when we’ve scheduled our cesarean because we have no idea when this baby will come.’ Didn’t quite realize how accurate that was.

We went back for the ultrasound, still breech, then were told that the Dr. wanted a non stress test. I didn’t know why but managed to not become stressed by singing my song, then listening to my itunes radio.

Then my Dr came in. And told us that our baby was in the 1% of growth since our last ultrasound. She was almost in tears as she told us how concerned she was. She wanted to get the bebe out that day and told us to go home and get our bags and come right back to the hospital. She guessed that our baby was under five pounds and would probably have to spend at least a week in the nursery.

That was a lot to process. I called my mom and told her I didn’t think they should take their trip to Sacramento. And then I quit processing and just focused on my baby kicking around, on things I wanted to take to the hospital and that I was probably having a baby that day.

So many emotions. We packed up, gave Gladys a kiss goodbye and headed back to the hospital with our full tank of gas. The nurses all gave me the download and I tried not to weep at everyone. Wes prayed with me and then I was taken to the O.R. to be prepared for the surgery.

I’ll be honest. I felt rather traumatized as I walked into the operating room. The shock of the day was, I think, still hitting me. I couldn’t believe that it was really time for me to have a baby. That mixed with the medicine they gave me and the freezing cold O.R. room caused me to shake uncontrollably.

I sang my song in my head and when a rather large nurse held me in her arms as the anesthesiologist prepared my back, I imagined Jesus arms around me.

My Dr. came over to me, assured me that everything was going to be great, then asked me what my favorite music was. I said, ‘um.’ She told me to just give her a name of an artist and I was able to come up with Chris Tomlin.

Wesley walked in on 10,000 Reasons. And as he kept beat by tapping on my arm I was almost overwhelmed as I truly felt the holy spirit with us in the room.

More praise songs continued to play and all around me, I heard different Dr.’s and nurses singing along. I wanted to join in but couldn’t. It was truly amazing. Evelyn was born to this music and Wes and I cried as everyone else cheered her wailing and hollering.

They brought her over to me and then her and Wes left to go get checked out. As my cesarean was finished up I heard my Dr. say, ‘wow, I almost got weepy as this little one was born and we were listening to this music and it just felt like we were having church in the O.R!’

I was pretty darn sure that church had indeed just taken place.

A nurse came back in to excitedly report the Evelyn was 5 pounds 2 ounces and later in the recovery room, the Dr.’s told me that they were thrilled with her feistiness.

Baby Evelyn! 034

Evelyn came home with us three days later.  We are so incredibly grateful to God for her safe arrival and health. For the wisdom of the doctors. For the support of the staff and all the knowledge and help I received from them. For the love and care shown to us. For the lactation consultant who wept and said, ‘oh isn’t this just wonderful! We’re listening to this music, praising Jesus and watching this little miracle!’

Baby Evelyn! 131 Baby Evelyn! 132 Baby Evelyn! 141 Baby Evelyn! 147 Baby Evelyn! 148

And we still are.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in baby, best of, Happiness, Life as it Happens, Music, Our Story. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to evelyn’s birth story.

  1. Cheree says:

    Tears of thankfulness are poring out of my eyes as I’m writing this Kels! So thankful for her safe arrival!! Babies are such wonderful blessings from our Lord.

  2. Abbs says:

    Kels,
    This spoke to my heart!, beautiful story! The Lord is a miracle worker! Beautiful

  3. Brookie says:

    Definitely cried reading this 💗 love you all

  4. Jeannine says:

    Beautiful, Kelsey! Wow! What an amazing story!

  5. Karyn says:

    Tears. Kelsey, that is one of the most beautiful birth stories I’ve ever read. I’m so happy for you for how it turned out. Your attitude of thankfulness and Gods presence turned a circumstance you weren’t prepared for into such a beautiful time and Evelyn is a truly amazing gift! Her entrance sounded so peaceful and lovely. Hugs and congratulations again!!! ❤

  6. Stephanie says:

    What a beautiful story! So thankful for the safe birth of your little Evelyn! Children are such a blessing! God is so good!! Can’t wait to meet your new love!

  7. Jana says:

    Definitely crying tears of joy over here. 🙂 Even though I’d already heard the story in person it was so sweet to read. And I love the photos of you bringing her home.

  8. Lisa Wiley says:

    What an awesome story. I am so happy she arrived safely and in good health I can’t hardly believe David and Lauren are Grandparents. Congrats to all!!

  9. Auntie Stace says:

    Loved reading this Kels. How wonderful is it that Evelyn was ushered into this world by praise music? Wow! What a beautiful story to share with her one day.

  10. Jonathan says:

    Praise God! Congratulations to you guys, very happy for you guys! And congrats on your first blog to make me cry 🙂

  11. lsm says:

    One more comment echoing what others have said. Really enjoyed her pg birth story. Love the family picture of you three. Glad you’re all doing well.

  12. Darlene says:

    Yea! And your story is a blessing. I’m glad she is here.

  13. Christine Vozikes says:

    Kelsey,
    You probably don’t remember me. I am a friends with your mom and dad. I met your mom when we worked at Capwell’s Department store back in the 80’s in Pleasant Hill. Your mom and dad are such very special people and I can tell they raised such beautiful, loving children. Your story brought such tears to my eyes. I am so thankful everything turned out well for the 3 of you! You are truly blessed. Enjoy every waking and sleeping moment with your little girl. They grow up so fast. Enjoy your new bundle of joy. God bless all of you!

  14. Becky Turpin Dealo says:

    To both you and Wes, I am so happy for you both. Words can’t usually capture the moments in life where we fill suspended between heaven and earth for a time in the arms of the Lord, but you sure seemed to do a pretty good job of it. Never forget His love and care. It always was and always will be. So proud of you and so excited to get a little moment in your life on Evelyn first moments in this life. Love you all ~ In His Grip ~ Becky Turpin ~ De Lorenzo

  15. Janelle says:

    Wow…just, Wow! This is a beautiful birth story that had me crying. Isn’t God amazing?! Love you guys and looking forward to meeting Evelyn.

  16. Tanja Bubigkeit says:

    Kelsey, tears of joy were streaming as I read this. I so cannot wait to meet her….furthermore I love her name! I was just thinking how nobody has named their baby Evelyn for a long time! (That I know of) That is the name of one of my best friends in elementary school!

  17. Thankful for such a beautiful story! So happy you brought her into the world listening to His praise! Looking forward to seeing Evelyn and you all soon!

  18. Nicole says:

    This brings tears to my eyes and joy to my heart!!! Praising God for his care over your little family. Love you!! Hugs and kisses to Evelyn 🙂

  19. Pingback: jack’s birth story. | A Story of Us

Leave a Reply

