this 37th week

Two things.

Gladys has been doing an excellent job of getting us ready for a child. This past week, as the weather has gotten chillier, she has decided that the furniture is a much cozier place to spend the night than her bed on the floor.

I’ve been doing a few things to try to prevent this but without fail, during every one of the 100 trips I make to the bathroom in the middle of the night, I hear her hop down from the sofa/chair and run to her bed. Nut.

A couple nights ago, I listened for the familiar thump and didn’t hear it. So I followed my belly out to the living room but didn’t see her. I went into the baby room. And back to the living room. And back to the baby room thinking, ‘oh my gosh if she got into that crib and is snuggled down on my fresh lambie…’. She wasn’t.

Our house is not very big but I continued looking for her and finally headed back to our bedroom to ask Wes if he knew where she was. I got as far as, ‘Wes?’, then spotted her. Curled up on the huge cushy pillow I had thrown on the floor. I’d about tripped over her when I’d gotten up in the first place.

We’re going to be taking drastic measures shortly.

photo 4-001Wesley went to the dentist on Tuesday and was weighed. He came home and announced that he was overweight.

He must not have received the correct amount of sympathy (amazing) or it was still bothering him because last night at dinner, he was still talking about it.

‘It is really weird to weigh the most you have ever weighed in your life,’ he said.

‘Really,’ said I. He must have missed my bland look. ‘And where do you think you have put these extra three pounds?’ I asked.

‘ Right in my stomach. But, you know, I think if I just cut back for a week and ran I could lose it.’

Hmm. I’m so happy for you.

Downloads3

Laugh.

 

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in animals, Happiness, Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to this 37th week

  1. Stacy says:

    Gotta love Gladys. And I love your keepgladysoffthefurniture strategy. Let us know how that works out. I’m betting you hear a THUMP tonight. There goes a chair. Holy Mackerel! thinks Gladys. I hope she didn’t hear that, but the risk is so worth it. And I bet Wesley learned something this week about talking weight to a pregnant woman. Or even a not pregnant woman. A dentist who weighs his patients? What’s that all about?

    • Jana says:

      Yeah I was wondering about the whole weighing at the dentist thing too. Never heard of it. You look adorable Kels. 🙂

  2. dbowiniii says:

    Wes. Totally sympathize with you. Nothing like struggling to pull those jeans on. It may have been the lobster in Maine.

  3. your mother says:

    Wesley….you fatty. i sure did giggle while reading this… About Gladys, I’m going to have to pack my stern voice, she is just so hard to discipline because of those sweet soulful eyes!!

  4. N.H. says:

    Kelsey, put him on a strict diet of none of those delicious dudes of yours. That will do the trick. 🙂 Off to make a batch of dudes myself now…

  5. Pingback: this 37th week. | A Story of Us

Leave a Reply

