Maine.

Gosh. Where do I start? Our dinner with George and Barbara? (Bush). Or our breakfast with the conductor at Harvard and his award winning opera singer wife?

Perhaps just at the beginning. We stayed two nights at Point Lookout and it was lovely. I believe we clocked in about five miles on the trails the first day there.

maine trip with parents 009

maine trip with parents 012

I had to take an occasional break. But the view at the top was worth it.

maine trip with parents 021IMG_3762 maine trip with parents 033

Cute parents. I love all that blue sky. And the colors going down to that blue water.

Later that day we did another hike to Knights Pond. Hadn’t been there before and it was quite serene.

IMG_3775 IMG_3786We spent a nice amount of time walking around Camden, enjoying shops, scenery, weather and…IMG_3760

Food.IMG_3796Let me tell you. The food in Maine is pretty much exquisite. And we love how they tell you that lobster is a dieters friend because it’s high in protein, low in fat and has all these good vitamins or whatever for you and then you just go and drown the poor thing in butter.

Gosh. My mouth is watering.

Two days into our trip we departed to Kennebunkport and that’s where we met and saw all those cool folks mentioned above. Bed and breakfast’s are a great way to meet some truly interesting people. Loved the English accents we ran into, conversing with the German couple who owned an automobile repair center (they prefer Volkswagen), the hilarious Canadian lady who was ‘just like a crow, went around looking for shiny things’, the gentleman who would not let his own daughter travel around the country at 35 weeks, and the other gentleman who reminded me of both my grandfathers and who had been at the bed and breakfast 32 times.

photo 3

Yes, Kennebunkport was a great place, the b&b had bikes so we toodled around town, walked around town, ate around town, etc.

photo 2

I had to take an occasional break. (Grama, the above picture is for you, I exclaimed several times at the hydrangea trees and felt sure you would have too. Perhaps I’m ignorant when it comes to hydrangea trees but these seemed enormous).

photo 1I also exclaimed at these.photo 2 (3)

And at this. I’ve never seen a cuter fountain.

maine trip with parents 072

Here’s the Bush residence.maine trip with parents 084Yes, we did eat dinner at the same restaurant as they; I have a very blurry picture of Barbara to prove this. The secret service had to tell dad to move along outside. (Dad had no idea what was going on, he was on the phone with Davey and thought all the clapping was for a retirement party).

We dropped dad and mom off at the airport in Portland on Wednesday, then enjoyed a few hours on a grassy knoll checking out the view and walking into town for some last Maine fare. Swell park.

maine trip with parents 090 maine trip with parents 095 photo 2 (2)

Swell trip.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, food, Happiness, Life as it Happens, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Maine.

  1. lsm says:

    Looks fun. Would have loved to have seen the blurry picture of Babs.

  2. Paula J says:

    Kelsey~~I love, love, love your travel BLOGS (well, all of them that I read, actually!). Thank you for sharing your travels with us. You say so much, so succinctly–very satisfying. I loved the glimpses into your conversations with people you met at the B & Bs–choice!

    You are one sporty gal, traveling so far along in your pregnancy, but, hey, why sit around at home waiting when there are roads to drive, hikes to take, people to meet and lobster to eat? 🙂

    How do you create the links when you BLOG, i.e. conductor was underlined, and when I clicked on it I was immediately linked to the info regarding said person?

    Keep up the good BLOGging! God bless you as you wait for bebe to arrive and give you a safe delivery and a healthy little one to raise and direct unto the Lord Jesus Christ!

    Lovingly,

    Paula Johnson

    • Paula J says:

      In re reading this, I will clarify my parenthetical phrase: I meant to say that I love all of your BLOGs, whether travel or other! Instead of the words ‘of them,’ I should have typed “all of your BLOGs.” In other words, I am a fan! 🙂

  3. Anya says:

    I love your posts. You look beautiful. I’m so glad you guys were able to take such a fun and fascinating trip.
    (and i could comment on every post, and would like to if my time weren’t so fragmented all the time — so, there’s a blessing for ya 😛 )
    Love — and can’t wait to hear about the little darling, and to come and see you both.

Leave a Reply

