stereotypical pregnant lady.

I don’t like being the stereotypical pregnant lady. I’d prefer to just be myself.

So I felt kinda dumb when I had to call my Dr’s office on Monday morning and ask when my next appointment was.

‘Hi. My name’s Kelsey and I have an appointment at 10:30 on Tuesday or Wednesday…I just can’t remember which day.’

‘Okay….Actually, your appointment is today…In 15 minutes.’

‘Really…(I didn’t think I was that pregnant.) Okay. Do you want me to come 30 minutes late?’

(Pause). ‘Oh.’ (pause). ‘Oh, I’m on the wrong day, you’re appointment is actually on October 2.’

‘Okay, cool. That’s a Wednesday, right?’

‘No, that’s a Thursday.’

(Pause). ‘Okkaayyy.’ (I was pretty darn sure October 2 was a Wednesday but decided not to argue about it).

(Pause). ‘Oh.’ (pause). ‘Oh, I’m still on the wrong day! Yes, you’re appointment is on Wednesday, October 2.

I hung up and felt better about myself.

Fast forward to Wednesday morning. I hopped out of the shower with seven minutes to spare. Not exactly ideal but not unusual either. I raced around the house and got everything ready to load up and then couldn’t find my keys.

Sigh. Insert stereotype. I frantically shuffled through the drawer five times while my brain raced to think what on earth I could have done with them. A sneaking, sinking suspicion entered my head and I opened the front door to see that yes, my car was gone.

I took a deep breath, told myself that I had not wasted much time in my search and said yes, change of plans but I can drive myself and a car full of stink bugs to town in the mighty Forester.

And then as I loaded the car, I realized that I had purposefully left my purse in my car so I would have one less thing to carry to the car in the morning.

Fighting stereotypical emotions, I called Wes and attempted to calmly explain my dilemma. It didn’t help when he asked when I needed to leave and I said, ‘5 minutes ago!’. (I hate being late to Dr. appointments. Feels stereotypical.)

Then I called my Dr’s office and told them I’d be 10-15 minutes late. (I think these things bother me more because I used to work at a Dr’s office. But maybe not. Perhaps I’m just being stereotypical. Think I can say that word any more?)

I raced to meet Wes, and then carefully raced to my appointment.

The receptionist slid back the glass window as I said, ‘Kelsey here for a 10:30 appointment.’

She looked at the time and laughed. ‘Well, you made it right on time!’

I prayed for green lights and had to thank God several times.

No real moral to this story. Except that I am now going to go embrace the stereotype and take a nap. And then probably eat some food. And thought this would probably make me chuckle in the days to come.

*Question of the week*

‘Well you’re either pregnant or really bloated.’

Yes, charming Allstate adjuster, I am pregnant. Thank you for noticing.

IMG_3725

*34 weeks. And Gladys’ chew toy. And Gladys’ bunker.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to stereotypical pregnant lady.

  1. LSM says:

    That bloating comment made me laugh. I had a friend ,when I was pregnant with Amanda, tell me, “you don’t look like you’ve gained much weight, you’ve just gotten heavy in the calves.” I cried first then I laughed. You look great btw.

  2. Jana says:

    Looking adorable Kels. And wow that sounds like quite the morning. 🙂 Sorry I couldn’t join at sweet frog.

  3. Your mother says:

    Gosh. I feel as if I’m reading about myself. You have grown in 2 weeks. You look marvelous. I showed the ladies. They say you look like me. Hmm maybe so. Maybe so.

  4. Stacy says:

    I was almost as confused as to when your doctor’s app’t was just by reading about it! You were making my Stogsdill blood sweat a little, all that running around and almost being late! 🙂 And, you look wonderful with little Genevieve under that baby bump. 🙂 he he. Just kidding, all you readers in blogland. I really don’t know “her” name.

  5. LSM says:

    Some how Stacy’s “hunches” about baby names frequently come true. Hmm, we will see.

Leave a Reply

