all in a week. (my family comes to visit)

We got home from Florida on a Tuesday, my family came in to Charlottesville on Thursday. This was one of the few times we actually made it to the airport on time, maybe even a little early. And their flight was 25 minutes late.

So I sat in the airport with great expectation and watched all the other flights come in and saw the joyful reunions and hugs and flowers and kisses and just wanted to get teary at all the happiness. And then Davey walked through the door. And he’s never seen me sporting a true belly. And I felt like I was waddling up to him. And that he was like, holy cow. My sister?

So then I got teary.

We had a fabulous time. My house did impressively well for handling six people, the amount of stuff that comes from four travelers, a dog, and a pregnant lady.

And now for the photo dump.IMG_3598

First dinner together on the patio. Jennifer further endeared herself to me when she told me that my patio was magical. Knew I liked her.

Gladys was extremely well taken care of that week. It was discovered that she particularly likes her armpits scratched.
IMG_3610I love this picture.

IMG_3612

Much of the trip revolved around food. Brunch at the Inn at Willow Grove is pretty much the best thing around. Particularly this here dish. Half the table doesn’t even like french toast yet three were ordered. Face down.

IMG_3622The amount of rearranging we did at this table…Us ladies started out on the cushy couch. And the air blew straight down on us. So we did a little Chinese fire drill and swapped places. And this picture…Dad started it all by drawing a heart with the remnants of the brick, mom wanted to take his picture, then I decided that all the men needed to have hearts on their plates. And then came a series of pictures where Wesley grew about a foot between Dad and Davey. We about died. And then that soulful lady.IMG_3613And then we decided we needed a group picture. So we asked our waitress if she would take one and she said sure, whenever you’re ready. So we all got back on the three person couch. And faced the whole dining room. For about seven minutes waiting for the waitress to notice us. And eventually just pulled out the stops for a pretty impeccable six person selfie. Nice job Dave.
IMG_3614During this waiting period, phones were pulled out and we all thoroughly admired the food we had just demolished. Jennifer was like, ‘you guys spend forever discussing the menu and get thoroughly excited about it, then the food comes and you drool over it and take pictures and talk about how amazing it is, then the foods gone and everyone reminisces by looking back at pictures and further discussing it.’ It was hilariously true.

IMG_3624

Aw.

I love this one too.IMG_3625

Jennifer and Gladys do not like thunderstorms.
IMG_3631

A stop to Yoders was a must as Jennifer had heard much about it. The baby goats and piglets did not disappoint.
IMG_3659 IMG_3662

Jennifer thoroughly enjoyed Virginia’s bug population.IMG_3660

And frog population. Photo credit to her on these lovely two.IMG_3661

Gladys even got a bath.IMG_3592

And was not particularly thrilled.IMG_3594

She recovered.family comes to visit 005We had such a good time. Top ten trip.

Thankful. Blessed.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to all in a week. (my family comes to visit)

  1. Stacy says:

    Looked like a fabulous time! Loved all the pictures.

  2. lsm says:

    Your patio does look magical. I like Davey’s glasses.

  3. your mother says:

    yes it was a great trip…lots of work for you, you fed us well and we enjoyed every minute. my favorite picture is Gladys after her bath looking at Jennifer with pleading eyes “please never let that happen to me again” look.

Leave a Reply

