flo-rida

For some reason, that’s how I say it in my head. Flow. Rida.

We were there. And now we’re back. And things are cracking around here so I thought I’d better come dump the memories real quick. Let the fun facts begin.

First of all, a two ish hour flight to your final destination is sweet. Fall asleep and you’re there. That was brilliant.

Our rental car had 2.6 miles on it when we hopped in. That was pretty cool too.

Florida is hot. I still have this central coast mindset that when you go to the beach, it will be cool and refreshing. So it’s funny to realize that your beach stay is neither of those. But the Florida coast is beautiful and supplied us with a nice breeze and it was lovely.

IMG_3579

We stayed in Rosemary Beach in a lovely carriage house. We met the owners of the place and that is almost an entirely different blog post. They immigrated to the U.S. from Bosnia during the Bosnian War in 1994 and they just have one of those shake your head type stories. Both were physicians in Bosnia and there first jobs here were parking cars and working at Macy’s.

photo (5)

Anyways, it was very cool to connect with them. And with Mario, their hilarious 5 year old son.

One of my favorite parts of the trip was that we woke up every day around 7 am. And were out on the beach by 9 o’clock. That’s pretty remarkable. Beaches were quiet for a few hours and around noon, when we were a bit salted out, we’d go back to the carriage house and jump in the out door shower and jump in the pool. It was really pretty rough.

IMG_3585 IMG_3584We biked everywhere. And I loved that. The village we were in had trees everywhere along the paths and it was just a great place to bike. No alligators along the pathway like in Hilton Head. Gosh. Wonder if I ever blogged about that? Alligators watching you bike. Waiting for you to miss the sharp corner and pedal straight into the pond. Scary.

IMG_3576 IMG_3581Fun places to eat. A wonderful coffee shop that made caramel macchiottos better than starbucks (gasp). I chatted it up with Jim from Atlanta while Wes played golf one morning. Soon I had the whole table chatting it up. All because I noticed that Jim and I were both jamming to the music. Heh.

IMG_3567 IMG_3580Really enjoyed the cozy little book shop. Bought a book that we both plowed through and then discussed and quoted throughout the rest of the trip. That was fun. We need to read books together more often.

Some wonderful fine dining that really hit the spot on occasion. Like wow. That was exactly what I wanted to put in my mouth.

IMG_3587IMG_3586This picture above reminds me that I need to pen a post about pregnancy and irritability. heh.

Welp. I think I hit the high spots.

Oh. Hot pretzels. With whipped cream cheese for a snack every day. That was a high spot.

Lovely to get away. Really glad we went. Very relaxing.

Happy five years to us. (In 9 days).

IMG_3575Gosh I’m thankful for him.

Hugs and love.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Happiness, Our Story, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to flo-rida

  1. Aswifty says:

    Ah Kels. Looks too good to be true. I could use a little time like that with my hubs. *sigh
    You, my dear, look very precious as a pregnant being. Can’t wait to hear what it is. (Pretty positive it’s a girl) did I already say that?
    Congrats on the first 5 of many many long years together, God willing.
    Xoxo

  2. I LOVE the way you write. I love the picture of you in the black dress on the bike. I love the place you stayed. Can’t believe you have been married 5 years…you are making me feel old!!! Wow!!!!!! So excited for you to have a these special times. Hugs dear!

  3. laurie says:

    yay! love that place. looks like you had an excellent time. can’t wait to hear more. love.

  4. Alisha says:

    Congrats to you guys! Looks like you had lots of fun!
    Alisha

  5. ikd6405 says:

    glad you had fun! That’s one of our favorite places in the world, so far! You made me miss it, even more than I already do! What coffee shop did you like, Amavida? And where is that scrumptious lunch from? enjoyed the post!

  6. lucinda says:

    Hey Kelsey, happy early fifth anniversary!!! Hard to believe it’s been five, huh? We were hoping to celebrate ours in Rosemary, too! But we’ll be rough’n it in Colorado instead. 🙂

Leave a Reply

