a tale of two tables-wherein i am a piece of work.

I think they call this nesting.

So. About three weeks ago, mom left and Wes and I moved a bit of furniture around to get the house ready for the arrival of my family in September-bed downstairs, futon in bedroom, chair back by stove.

This led to more rearranging. (Wes likes to rearrange the furniture. This is still a novelty to me as I remember Dad coming home, claiming he didn’t even know whose house he was in after mom would rearrange.)

Our house has been roughly the same for at least two years because our current set up just works. But we were in that mode to change it up and it just wasn’t flowing much. And I decided it was because of our dining room table.

IMG_3416A really lovely piece that I decided was just too big for our house, especially with the arrival of a third party. There just simply wasn’t room for it any more.

So off to craigslist I went. As in immediately. As in, idea planted itself in my head and next moment I was on computer. For an hour. Perusing. I found the perfect one, located only 40 minutes away and hollered to Wes. He looked at it and was like, ‘Kelsey. You’re searching in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania.’

Blast.

Wes went to bed but I couldn’t. A round table had captured my fancy and gosh darn I was going to get a round table. Before my family came back in September.

I finally went to bed and laid there thinking about my table. Wes sorta woke up and was like, ‘hi.’ I responded, ‘table’. He snorted and rolled over.

Basically-to anyone who cares, there are thousands of 42 inch tables on craiglist. And a few 48 inch tables with claw feet. And no 48 inch tables with graceful legs. And quite a few people who have no idea how to measure.

Five days into my obsessive search I found the perfect one. It was beautiful and required very little changing up. And it specifically said on the ad, 48 inches. I called the lady and asked her two double check before we made the two hour trek north to buy it. Whoops. Somehow she measured wrong and it was only 42 inches.

I was crushed. Wes and I carried in our 42 inch patio table and sat facing each other. I slumped. Wes tried not to laugh. We called mom. Mom said, ‘Kelsey. You will find your table.’ I slinked back to craigslist. Wes had to call the lady back and tell her no because I was too dejected.

Snort.

Pretty sure it was the next day when I finally came across my graceful 48 inch table for a song.

And it’s absolutely perfect for my little house.

IMG_3549

And everyone involved breathed a sigh of relief.

(And shook their heads and laughed.)

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to a tale of two tables-wherein i am a piece of work.

  1. your mother says:

    how do you 2 buy something and turn it around so fast and be so cute?? you should show the before pics… and another thing i have no idea where you came from i would never be one tract minded and drive the house nuts….

  2. Rachel Stevens says:

    Kels, you are too much-crazy, funny, amazing… Glad you married such a great guy! Love your writing/storytelling. Love your pictures, etc.!

  3. I love this! I feel the same way about purchases…they consume me until I get them figured out!!! Fun. Not always so much. Love the way you write.

  4. Pingback: this 37th week. | A Story of Us

Leave a Reply

