i think this is now an annual tradition.

Surely when you do something for four years in a row, it becomes an annual tradition. Right? This means that we have no choice but to go back next year.

Woot.

Here’s year two.

Here’s year three.

Here’s year four. Right here.

IMG_3325

Dang. Lake Moomaw is awesome. (Cool photos were captured by the illustrious David Corle Photography. [check it out]. Not cool photos were taken by me.) (I’ll help you distinguish).

That is rather a breathtaking sight. And we had just been a part of a rather breathtaking storm.

But first things first.

We arrived at Moomaw a day early after deciding to ditch a fourth of July party. Whoops.

Gladys was going to come along this year but at the last minute, we decided she probably needed a nice vacation with her good friend Bear and dropped her off at our trusty dogsitters.

IMG_3312She didn’t seem to mind. (Not cool photo).

After a series of, ‘Are we there yet?’ (I like to prep Wes for long car rides with kids), we arrived.IMG_3322It was a bit overcast. (Uncool)
IMG_3324

But we were happy to be there. (Uncool)

So the next day was kinda wish washy. Rainy, sunny, cloudy, rainy, sunny, down pour, sunny, rainy, etc. I did wonder if we were ever going to dry out.

And then, in the evening, during one of the semi sunny spells, we were in the boat cruising around, and stopped to watch a storm come towards us. It was crazy to see the rain booking it towards us on the water. And then we got hammered. And then, while it was still raining, the sun came out and we all started looking for the rainbow. And bam. There it was, right in front of us, stretching out across the water. And as the rain moved past and the sun shone, the rainbow came nearer and nearer until it went completely over us and moved on past.

It was incredible. And then, it what I can only describe as looking exactly like the glaciers moving like trains in Ice Age 1, we watched a block of rain, 30 yards away, move steadily across the water while we sat in pure sunshine.

Ahmazing.

And speaking of ahmazing, the next day was some of the best weather we’d had at moomaw. Glorious. It even drew the guys back to belly boarding. Davey was missed.

IMG_3326

Glorious water. (Cool).
IMG_3327

Glorious days. (Cool).IMG_3329

Glorious time. (Cool).

 

And very very thankful for the safety we experienced and for our dear comrades who had quite a delay in arriving. So grateful they were okay and able to join in on the weekend.

Hugs.

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to i think this is now an annual tradition.

  1. David Corle says:

    *ahem* I’d like to start by saying a hearty thank you to you for driving “boatloads” of traffic to my website. I’d also like to say that these photos are only accurate representations of what I saw…it’s the nature that was amazing!
    It has been a fun tradition and I look forward to more great times in the future! (Baby Cotten to enter stage right for a dramatic 2014 appearance…)

Leave a Reply

