party on.

So my grandparents toodled off on Friday, and my aunt and uncle drove in Saturday. We were tickled to see them and to show off our patio labors including a swell little fountain Wes had built the evening prior. As they were family, they had to ooh and ahh over things whether or not they were ooh or ahh quality. And that’s always a great thing.

IMG_3239After indulging in some iced coffees and lemon pound cake, me and Aunt Stace took turns on the eighty-eights, and Wes asked Uncle Dave’s opinion on ripping out the creepy cupboard at the bottom of the stairs. Next thing you knew, saws were grinding, hammers were pounding, and several, ‘dudes!’ could be heard from the bottom of the stairs. (Most of the ‘dudes’ came from Wes.)

They knocked that puppy out and I’m in between coats of paint. Gladys also is in between coats of paint. We just experienced a rather loud thunderstorm and she has paint all over as she needed to be as close as possible. She’s now sitting on my foot as I type. In case you needed a visual.

But back to Saturday. A party then commenced in the evening with candles flickering, fountain gurgling, blue bell eaten, and slugs salted.

IMG_3247

And the party continued on.

According to my calculations, there were 24 people around the pool yesterday. Ten of these were chilluns and they were hilarious to watch interact; from the brave motoring around the whole pool to the rather timid who sat on the stairs and ordered the brave about. “Now put your face in the water. Now jump. You need to close your mouth!”

Three year olds are pretty entertaining.

It was a perfect pool day, rather scorching outside and perfect in the water. Add great friends, chocolate cake, ice cream and iced coffees and I’m not sure what more you could ask for.

Its been swell.

Hurray for summer.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, friends, Happiness. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to party on.

  1. ikd6405 says:

    Agh. Man. Making me even sadder to have missed. Sounds delightful. Times at your house always are!

  2. Aunt Stace says:

    Yes, the Daffodil House was indeed party central last week. Glad we could partake. It was enjoyable as always, only wish it could have been longer. There’s always a good time to be had at the DH, between singing, eating great food, enjoying the great outdoors, being a part of some great conversations and bonding with a lively pooch.

  3. Your patio looks like a great place to hang out with friends! Love it.

Leave a Reply

