my spry grandparents.

gramps and grama visit 001

They made it back again. That’s twice now since the last time my parents have been back to see me. When I informed them of this, the immediate response was, ‘Grampa doesn’t have a job.’

psh. I still think that’s rather a remarkable fun fact.

I had a blast. And hope they did too. We spent a few hours touring around but come Wednesday, we really dug down deep. So to speak.

I’ve shown you pictures of Grama’s gardens and I couldn’t wait for her to help me with mine and all my flower pots. So on Wednesday, we started at Lowes, and then my dear MIL took us to the most beautiful nursery I’ve ever been to. Tucked back in the middle of nowhere.

IMG_3201 IMG_3196 IMG_3202IMG_3199IMG_3203Gosh. I’m inspired all over again. And a little awed. And perhaps a bit dismayed.

At any rate, for the next two days Grama and I worked at the daffodil house and were quite pleased with our efforts.

IMG_3208We tickled roots and Gramps tickled the ivories. (He did pretty well for us not paying him much attention during the gardening hours.)
IMG_3211We ate every dinner out on the patio and it felt so ‘Californiaish’ to live outside.

photo 2They’re a blast to cook for. Gramps dives into everything, especially rice, and eats as if you were serving the most delectable of foods. And you can tell that Grama relishes the feeling of not being the one to cook dinner. I 100% know this feeling because I relish each meal my mother cooks for me when at the daffodil house. Or her house.

A great time. I loved being outdoors with Grama and actually learned quite a few tidbits. It gives me much joy to go around and pinch off plants, stick them in dirt and just plan on them rooting. (Who knew?)

gramps and grama visit 003Thankful. 🙂

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to my spry grandparents.

  1. dbowiniii says:

    Nice pics and nice grandparents and nice dig at your parents. Garden looks very nice. You definitely picked up some of my skill. They didn’t call me ‘mowin bowin’ for no good reason. Nice skirt too.

  2. lsm says:

    Yes, it is a nice skirt and no you can’t tell you’re prego. You do have spry grandparents and I had a little chat with your gramps just today. He’s so good about checking in. And yes your yard does look lovely. I’m working on mine trying to make it a bit more inviting and hospitable. I think it is getting there. You have a nice day.

Leave a Reply

