camp post.

It’s funny to me how the less than ideal circumstances life sometimes brings our way, are the ones that we remember well and chuckle about.

Or maybe I think that because I have this picture. And it makes me laugh.

I think I really like camping.

I guess it depends on the camping. Where. What. Why. Weather. Water. Bathrooms?

Those are some important factors.

But I love hopping into a loaded car with Wes and off we drive to fewer distractions, campfires, food, scenery, and hopefully water.

We definitely got the water this year.

So we pull into post on Friday around noon. And a couple hours later, just as some of our camp site friends and family pull up, the heavens open and a deluge pours down.

And thus…photo 1-004Oh this makes me chuckle. It was kind of a variation of how many guys does it take to change a light bulb. But instead it was how many ways can we hang a tarp that is big enough to cover our entire house?

Lots of ways. The first way wasn’t the best as shortly after the rain commenced, we could have swam in the pool on top of the tarp. Hence Joni holding the tarp up with an axe, hence Jeremy’s statue of liberty pose and hence an umbrella on my head.

We, (they), finally battened down the hatches, and we cooked dinner and ate safe and snug in the torrential rain. Rather memorable.

Then more friends came with more tarps and after a few more light bulb ideas, we had a pretty swell little campsite.photo 3-004Not bad at all.

Good pound cake too.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, friends, Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to camp post.

  1. Nic says:

    Wow! Love this story and the pics. Love me some pound cake, camping not so much! 😉

  2. laurie says:

    ahhh, camping in virginia. 🙂

  3. Dana says:

    I didn’t even notice the huge umbrella on your head!!! 🙂 love it and you! Hope you had fun!!!

  4. texninva says:

    homeless but classy neighborhood ? …looks fun

  5. Jana says:

    Hmm funny, I thought we went to camp cope. 😉

  6. Amber says:

    looks like a fun adventure. 😉

Leave a Reply

