i went to the animal fair.

The birds and the beasts were there.

The big baboon by the light of the moon was combing his auburn hair.

You should have seen the monk…

Forever ago, when I was in California, Davey, Jennifer, Wes and I took the train to the Santa Barbara Zoo.

We got up at the crack of dawn to get down to the train station by 6:45. Jennifer got up way before the crack of dawn to feed horses, dogs, cats, llamas and whatnot. This made me seriously reconsider Wesley’s dream of having a sheep farm.

Once on the train, three of us conked. And then awoke to lovely scenery.

IMG_2834The Pacific Coastliner really is the way to travel.
IMG_2836There were times when you’d look straight down from the window and just see water. Kinda crazy. And very cool.
IMG_2841

We all waved enthusiastically when we trained by Refugio. Lovely place.
20130327_092358_HDR_resizedAnd then we arrived in Santa Barbara. Yes, Jennifer is the only one who didn’t sleep. Yes, I am still waking up. And yes, Wesley’s compression socks worked nicely.

After taking off in three different directions, we finally figure out which way breakfast was. And because we must be country bumpkins, we had no idea how to use public transportation and therefore walked miles to breakfast and miles to the zoo.

So naturally, when we saw the little kiddie train that allows you to sit on your tush and take a tour of the zoo, I said, ‘Please?’.

Alas. No such luck.

Zoo was great. Penguins were our favorite. I could have sat and watched them forever. They’re so tiny and just hilarious. Basically, they take baths all day long.

20130327_113142_HDR_resizedElephants are huge. Lions are hungry. And sound just like humans as they beat down doors. Leopards are beautiful. Flamingos smell. Anteaters are odd. And monkeys swing like a bell.

Heh.

And then we were starving.

IMG_285220130327_131906_resized And then we boarded a bus like we knew what we were doing and headed to state street for more food and shopping.

Wes and I slipped away to one of those foot spa places and came out feeling like new people.

We ran down state street, caught the train, and were whisked back to San Luis to enjoy Fire Stone and then, finally, fell into bed.

Quite the day. Highly recommend.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to i went to the animal fair.

  1. Twas a lot of fun! Quite the day indeed. Heh. Also, you give me way too much credit for sounding like a morning person…I did conk out on the way home…though that was after lots of walking 😉

  2. PaulaJ says:

    What a fun report of a delightful day! You have a gift of writing enough to make one want to experience what you are experiencing without wasting words. The foot spa was a smart move!
    I look forward to hearing of more adventures! Lovingly, Paula J

Leave a Reply

