shine a light

end it

This is pretty heavy folks. But sometimes life is pretty heavy. So here goes.

Today, April 9th, people are coming together to shine a light on slavery. While I’m coming in on the tail end of the day, I figured I’d better shine my small light.

There are 27 million slaves around the world today-more so now than in any other time in history. And today’s goal is to raise awareness, knowing that awareness does not exactly solve problems, but is a step in the right direction.

I took a test to see how many slaves are working for me. (Kids should definitely skip video-it’s troubling and heavy). You basically answer a bunch of questions about the food/products you buy, etc. The answer made me cringe, want to go hide and ignore reality. It’s painful to think about. According to the test, I have 39 slaves who have worked/are working for me.

That kind of paralyzes me.

And makes me feel powerless. And incredibly sad.

But there is something I can do. I can pray. I can shine a light. I can learn.

And it feels small. But it’s a start.

For the children around the world without a home, say a prayer tonight. (Third Day)

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

