oh the places we’ll go and the people we’ll see!

Or rather, oh the places we went and the people we saw!

I’m rather behind here in blog world. I meant to take my computer with me and update you with fascinating reports but conveniently left it at home. Alas.

But. I’ll start at the very beginning. A very good place to start. When you read you begin with….

Whoops.

So. We went for a road trip! Across the country! To California!

We kinda thought we might be crazy but we’ve also sorta always wanted to do it. And with a truck that needed to get to California, we decided there was no time like the present.

Conveniently, Wes had a class in South Carolina to attend for work on the weekend of March 16, so we had a lovely head start.

And I perhaps should document what we did on March 15 when we arrived in South Carolina.

photo 1-002Oh this was a funny way to start out the trip. I guess it was a perk for driving all the way to South Carolina for school for the guys. And boy did they ever enjoy it. So funny to observe the difference between men and women in these settings. I think I was the only girl in our group and I told the guy heading it up, I was only going out there so that the guys could lap me a bunch of times and feel better about themselves.

And lap me they did. By the way, this is an indoor go cart/ race car/whatever track. You race around it for 10 minutes, three different times. Wes lapped me three times the first race. And then I improved my time by a whole 7 seconds per lap and he never lapped me on our last race. heh heh.

But after each heat finished, the guys would tear off their helmets, strip off race suit, stare at the score board, and then the ‘Dudes!’ would begin and they would drip sweat and go over each lap and what happened here and there and this and that.

I was like. Well now. That was fun. Oh look, dinner arrived!

It was so funny. And alas, dinner was pizza, for the third time in 5 days.

We had a ca-razy week. Think working 4 days, trying to pack for a 17 day trip, two music night practices for the upcoming wedding, and a bunch of other stuff that I can’t remember. But we were ready to get out of dodge and South Carolina was a lovely landing spot.

Nice people there too. I road the elevator with an older couple and they’re 30 ish daughter. One of them commented on the shirt I was wearing and I told them it was from Turkey.

Next thing you knew, we were talking about Ephesians, Paul, Rome, Romans, every wind of doctrine, their friend who was a missionary in Turkey and the like. Love those random connections. Saw them a bit later as I was having lunch with my friends and had another cheery encounter. My favorite was my dear friend asking, ‘Um. How do you know people in South Carolina?’

Chuckle.

Alright. Enough for today.

Cheers for the road trip.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Our Story, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to oh the places we’ll go and the people we’ll see!

  1. a friend who loves your blog says:

    I feel like I am left hanging out in S.C, and you have gone on to Ca and back home without me….

  2. Amy says:

    Yeah..hurray up with the next chapter would ya? 🙂

  3. dbowiniii says:

    Yeah. Get to the part where you came and saw us. I liked that part and hardly remember it. Write something a little edgy that will set all of us pontificators off. We haven’t heard from Mel in awhile.

    • Mel says:

      “We haven’t heard from Mel in awhile.” How sweet. They miss me. Wait. Wait! “Write something a little edgy that will set all of us pontificators off.” He just insulted me. But he used a nice little “us” in there, so as to lessen the blow. How sweet. How sweet indeed..

Leave a Reply

