a plan.

I have never liked bible reading plans. It feels man made. Like someone is telling me that I need to go read Ezra. And I’m like, what if I want to read James? It feels suffocating. And I feel like I would just want to do the the opposite of what it’s telling me to do.

Kinda like those paper towel dispensers in public bathrooms. The ones that say to pull with two hands and then there’s that ‘x’  over the image of one hand pulling the paper towel.

papertowel-dispenserAnd you’re like why? So, naturally, you use one hand. And nothing bad happens!

Or there’s that sign on the bathroom door in Starbucks, (why do these all involve bathrooms?), that says, ‘Pull up on handle to open door.’ And I’m like, well. What would happen if I just pushed down on the handle? The door won’t open. Who’d have thought?

All that to say, I’m on day 2 of my first bible reading plan. I’m .5% through the bible!

Chuckle. We’ll see how it goes. I can’t handle all those ones that skip around here there and yon but thought that reading chronologically could be pretty interesting. Like, who knew Job was smack dab after Genesis 11.

Dad says the prophets will wear me out. Louie agrees. (Go to minute 25). So do I. But hey! We’ll see how it goes. So far it’s going great! (In case you missed it, I’m on day 2. chuckle).

Anyone want to do it with me?

Here’s to day three. And beyond!

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to a plan.

  1. Which one are you doing? I’ve never done one it might be fun to do it together while miles apart!

  2. if you have the bible app on your phone/ipad its the ‘Chronological’ plan by the Blue Letter Bible. or here it is online http://www.blueletterbible.org/reader/daily/PDF/Plan4.pdf

  3. Mel says:

    Hmm…no commitment from me on the planned reading…who knows, I may change my mind tomorrow. Enjoyed this post, Kels. Also, I DISAGREE about the prophets. No, actually, I agree that it may seem a bit over-the-top-detail-oriented, but there’s so much good stuff. Many of my favorite verses can be found in the prophets. “These people honor me with their mouths, but their hearts are far from me.” “Stand at the crossroads and look. Ask for the ancient paths. Ask where the good way is and walk in it, and you will find rest for your souls.” “I have loved you with everlasting love.” “Though the fig tree should not blossom, and there be no fruit on the vines, though the yield of the olive should fail and the fields produce no food, though the flock should be cut off from the fold and there be no cattle in the stalls, yet I will exult in the LORD, I will rejoice in the God of my salvation.” I think the BEGATS are the hardest to get through, but there are even interesting facts in there. Facts like Korah and Moses were first cousins. And that the prophet Samuel was a descendant of Numbers 17 Korah. Ok. That was WAAAY too long. Should have just sent you an email. 🙂

    • dbowiniii says:

      In my defense. Ezekiel was a little tough. I hadn’t seen the Louis take on it, but I was a little worn out carrying the measuring tape around for a couple of days. But going through the prophets one after the other with Kings and Chronicles interspersed did get too me.. You’re like, “don’t you guys get it yet? You’ve got two clear choices in front of you! Make the right call!”, and then doom and destruction and plundering and eye gouging, and pigeon dung for dinner. It’s a little heavy. If you’re reading Ezekiel out of the NLT, that stuff there will make a pirate blush. My advice to anyone who was listening (that cuts it right on down to not many), was to sprinkle in some Psalms, Gospels, Pauline epistles, to balance things out.
      Thank you for listening.

  4. Kristy says:

    interesting post kelsey. i’ll text you:)

  5. U Dave says:

    Stacy just discovered the ” Job in Genisis” factoid as well.

  6. Aunt Stace says:

    Oh Kels. You are so related to your Aunt Stace. Really. I just decided this January, I would also read the Bible chronolocially this year. I’m enjoying the different perspective. And, I’m on day 23 so I’m a little bit ahead of you.

  7. your mother says:

    Just so we are clear on the “begats”.
    David the Dad started reading LAST year the Bible chronologically to which he begat David the 4th to purchase a one year chronological Bible to which me the mother (one year later) was begot to open her iphone to the app “chronological bible” and start reading, and somewhere in there the daughter was begot but we didn’t know it and the mother began feeling the begatness was not for her and found her own reading plan that allows her to read in Matthew, Genesis, Acts and Psalms all on the same day! How liberating! How freeing!
    We also see the Aunt is still begot on day 23, well of course, today is January 23rd! It does seem our dear friend Mel could teach a Sunday school lesson on the prophets, from her writings I might stay interested.
    Good post by the way….

  8. A says:

    OMG. No way Aunt Lauren.

  9. a friend of Kelsey's says:

    I love it! I must say, I have really missed this blog, Kels! And the comments to go with it.

Leave a Reply

