oh how i love the simple things.

Well. Last week I had a great list of simple pleasures to share with you. But now it’s this week and I’m not really sure how many I can come up with. So we’ll just see where this goes.

  • Sitting in the hot tub listening to the rain. It’s so wonderfully warm and so peacefully quiet and just a great lulling background to any conversation.
  • Pot roasts. I’m not even completely sure I like pot roasts. The whole big hunk of meat and cooked carrots has never been my ideal meal. In fact, tonight will be the first time I’ve ever done a ‘traditional’ pot roast. But there is something absolutely divine about 5:00 rolling around and thinking, ‘heh. I know whats for dinner tonight. Cause I made it three hours ago. boo yeah.’ None of this driving home at 6:00 with Wes from work saying, ‘Oh crud. What are we going to eat tonight.’ Especially when you’re avoiding grocery stores.
  • Wesley, in our bedroom folding laundry (bless him). I was in the kitchen making our lunches for the next day and I hear him whistling, ‘Picking up my socks, hanging up my clothes, helping with the dishes, doing what I’m told. It’s just another way of saying Lord, I love you.’ And oh it made me laugh, even as I was like, ‘aw.’
  • Seeing pictures that my lovely friends post of their cute little chilluns helping them wash dishes. And I’m like, ‘Aw, I have one of those too!’IMG_2474

heh. Sorry. Couldn’t resist.

  • Louie Giglio. Come on. Don’t say you weren’t expecting it. I don’t know if you watched any of the videos that I posted last week, but that second one I posted where I cried the whole way through, (hope: when life hurts most), has a part 2. And we watched it last night. And I cried again. And I cried because he’s talking about real life trouble, real life stories. But because of John 16:33, we can have hope. And the whole concept of the message just pretty much highlights where I need to grow. I do not like trouble. It scares me. I’m not a fan. And if it’s God’s will that trouble comes my way, I ask him to change his will. But this message highlights thoughts that I’m trying to shift my focus to. And they’re pretty amazing. 
  • That probably wasn’t a simple thought. But it’s been on my brain. And now I’m having a hard time switching to something light and fluffy. Perhaps this is where I go make mashed potatoes to go with my perfect pot roast as they are light and fluffy. And wish you all warmth. (The high was 27 degrees today. Gladys has been very bored.)IMG_2521Alright. I believe that’s what I’ll do. See you next time and here’s to hoping we get snow on Friday! (Is it weird that I’m saying that?)

hugs and love.

p.s. As I went about making my mashed potatoes, I remembered another simple pleasure. For the past four years of my married life, I’ve had the ‘simmer select’ button pressed on my stove. This means that for four years, I’ve had one normal burner. The other one simply simmers. Which is why it would take about an hour to cook pasta. And as I was cooking pasta last week, I said to myself, ‘hmm, wonder what this little button is doing?’. And I turned if off and vroom. Boiling water. Amazing.

Just thought I should share that happy experience with you.

Cheers.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to oh how i love the simple things.

  1. Terri says:

    Kelsey,
    I enjoyed your post. I’d be glad for you and Wes to come up and enjoy our “simple pleasure’ of sitting by the wood stove, sipping a cup of tea while the snow is falling outside. (that’s what we’re doing now)
    You’re training Gladys well. Is she helping wash the dishes? or sniffing them to make sure the dishwasher got them clean?

  2. laurie says:

    You get the Linda award for being such a good (and apparently persistent) cook even with the “simmer select” button on. Ahhhh, only you Kels. =) Love ya.

  3. dbowiniii says:

    Did you ever try the pot roast tacos? Very humorous about the simmer button. That’s why I cook on gas. Mom claims she is going to an electric cooktop like yours in her next life. I’m not sure I’m ready for that. She says she’s not going to cook as much. Hmm.

  4. Jane says:

    Hi Kelsey!
    Thanks for sharing the video about John 16:33… I pulled out my Bible :). So true, right?
    I feel your pain with the cold- I’m back in Utah and 6 degrees is so cold after a constant 80 in the Philippines. Anyway, we California girls can survive in snow, right?
    Haha have a wonderful day and go cook some mashed potatoes on high heat!
    Love,
    Jane

  5. jane!! lovely to hear from you! isn’t that video amazing? and yeah this whole freezing business is making me a bit nervous although i did enjoy the beauty of the snow today. mashed potatoes turned out swell! chuckle.
    much love.
    km

  6. a friend of Kelsey's says:

    To hear you say you hope that is snows…..Truly AMAZING Indeed!

  7. Pingback: the first few weeks. | A Story of Us

Leave a Reply

