hanging out with Louis

When I was a kid, it was Louis the swan.

Davey and I listened to tapes to put us to sleep at night. When one side was done, one of us would creep out of bed, press the eject button as softly as possible, gently pull out the tape, slide it back in, close the thing, press play, and leap back in bed before mom or dad would holler, ‘Kelsey, Davey, no more. Go to sleep.’

It was always quite a feat.

Davey and I could carry on conversations as characters in books because many a road trip, many a night was spent listening to Cheaper by the Dozen, Charlotte’s Web, Mouse on the Motorcycle, Jason’s Gold, Bud not Buddy, and The Trumpet of the Swan.

IMG_2514And I just love it when your childhood gives you thoughts for life as an adult. For instance, this quote came flying back to me and I had the pleasure of telling a friend that he reminded me of Abe Lucky Lucas. ‘His face looked shrewd and wise, as though he knew a great many things, many of them not worth knowing.’ Chuckle. (Three lucky guesses, first two don’t count.)

Or this thought on catastrophes: ‘In a very small, high voice, Jennie said, “When you get ready to go on a picnic with your father and mother and you make peanut-butter sandwiches and jelly rolls and put them in a thermos box with bananas and an apple and some raisin cookies and paper napkins and some bottles of pop and a few hard-boiled eggs and then you put the thermos box in the car and just as you are starting out it starts to rain and you parents say there is no point in having a picnic in the rain, that’s a catastrophe.” ‘

Or that’s just living in Virginia in the summer. chuckle.

Anyways. I have not been hanging out with Louis the swan. I’ve been hanging out with Louie Giglio. And its been swell.

louis

Among many things, Louie is a public speaker and his talent at communicating will blow your socks off. Or at least my socks blew off. But it’s not just his talent at speaking but how he uses his talent that makes your heart kinda smile and say, ‘ah.’ Or at least mine.

So, if you’d like to be introduced and you notice that the high here on Friday is 30, with the low at 28 and you have nothing better to do, I think this is a nice place to start. And if you’ve already seen that, this comes next. I cried through most of it. And then this sorta finishes the story. And I cried some more and said wow.

And after that, the world is your oyster! Of course, if you’d like some more recommendations, I’d be happy to tell you more of what I’ve seen. Surprise surprise.

Alright. I’m off. Cherio!

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to hanging out with Louis

  1. Aunt Stace says:

    We have watched 3 of Louie’s presentations and they are very moving and uplifting. I recommend them, too!

  2. Debbie Roy says:

    Loving real true teachings from gifted men like Louis! Thanks for sharing! Did you happen to hear him encourage the community in of Sandy Hook the other night?! Now that was an amazing 4 hours as he, Max Lucado, Casting Crowns, Chris Tomlin, TobyMac, Laura Story….WOW! Made me ready for heaven!! Thank you for your REAL encouragement, girlie!!

  3. Jeannine says:

    Just finished watching the first one you recommended!! WOW!!! How GREAT is our God!!! Thanks for the encouragement!! Keep sharing!!

Leave a Reply

