Penobscot/Fort Knox

Completely stellar day. Even better than the day before. Top ten.

As you may have surmised, we started the morning by going to the top of that observatory tower featured in picture 4, a mere 420 feet above the Penobscot River. And no climbing was involved, just a long elevator ride. 😉

Grampa, Wes and I were all bit queasy at the top. Little knee knocking, little apprehension, little earthquake pondering. But wow, what an incredible view. I’d say a must stop if you’re on highway 1 along the Maine Coast.

A couple yards away from the observatory tower was Fort Knox. We saw a bit more of this than we bargained for as we couldn’t figure out how to get out of the place. But the view looking out toward Bucksport was just lovely. The river looked like it was going at a good clip and it was so blue and wonderful looking that I just wanted to hop in an inter tube and float down: soak up all that wonderful scenery.

I decided that I’m coming back in the summer.

Next stop, Point Lookout!

(Gramps has been real appreciative of his travel agents-he and grama are both impressed with Wes and his priceline prowess as well as his superb chauffeuring skills. Yelp has brought us to some superb restaurants and we’ve all been quite pleased with our stops. So I should probably take the time to thank my personal travel agent for sharing all your wonderful Maine tips/trips. We’ve enjoyed every one. Thank you 🙂 ).

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Penobscot/Fort Knox

  1. Dana says:

    Such beautiful picture!!! This makes me want to go to Maine!!! 🙂

  2. a friend of Kelsey's says:

    hehe. climbing. 😉

  3. LSM says:

    Ok, it’s 80 degrees out here in LB but I am all over the storm coverage on the east coast. Are you guys hunkered down in a cozy spot watching the storm from the safety of a second story window? Is this storm affecting you at all other than being able to get out and sight see? Details pretty please? Be safe.

Leave a Reply

