they arrived.

Wes, nor I, were expecting guests to arrive at the Charlottesville airport Tuesday night.

Last month, Wes and I were chatting and he told me he thought it would be fun to take a train trip to Maine and perhaps, go with another couple.

About a week later, Grampa called me and said, ‘Well…I’ve been thinking about a taking a train trip to Maine…”

And the rest is history.

Well, I guess not quite. We are currently in route and making history.

Our first plan was to fly them in to Dulles aiport on Wednesday night and get on the train at Union Station Thursday morning. After pondering this option, I realized, with our flight issues, this was simply tempting fate.

So, we decided to fly them in a day early, straight into Charlottesville as that would give them two whole days to get here. Because they had connections in Phoenix and Charlotte, two places where we’ve had to spend the night, we just didn’t expect them to actually arrive on time in Charlottesville.

And sure enough they did.

We spent our extra day making a few house calls, enjoying the scenery, and getting re-acquainted with the Daffodil house and Gladys.

Last night, we hopped in our car, drove up to DC, heard history in the making as Pablo Sandoval (Panda), became the 4th baseball player to hit 3 home runs in one world series game, and arrived at the Sheraton Hotel to crash for the evening.

Today began at 5:45.

And more on that later.

Hugs and love.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to they arrived.

  1. Paula J says:

    I think it is so neat the way you and Wes travel with your parents and grandparents. I hope you have a lovely trip to Maine and back. 🚆

  2. Auntie A says:

    Great post. Love the pics 🙂

Leave a Reply

