the wheels on the train.

Wow. Such adventures.

So. The last time I was on a train was 1997. Incidentally, this was also a trip with Grama and Grampa. And while I know it was a great trip, I have no memories of any type of logistics. This caused a bit of angst. Where do we park? How do we get tickets? Is there security? How long does it take to get through security? Will we have to take a shuttle to get to our gate?

Basically, I was picturing Union Station to be like IAD and felt woefully unprepared.
We manuevered through traffic at 6:30 am with Wes following his iphones twisting and turning directions. Grampa cheerfully remarked to Wes about different landmarks and interesting trivia. I finally told him he couldn’t talk until we got to the train station because I could hardly keep track of what the iphone was telling Wes to do, and I, (thank heaven) wasn’t even the one driving. This caused Gramps to talk in hushed tones to Grama, then remark, ‘Oh. I’m not supposed to be talking.’

Chuckle.

We arrived at Union Station 45 minutes before depature and were met with what appeared to be a grand construction mess. Like I said, 45 minutes at IAD and good luck making your plane.

Wes dropped us off and I wondered when we’d see him again. I reminded myself that if we missed the train, we still had a car and could drive to Maine.

I led the way, acting like I knew what I was doing, with Gramps and Grama trailing behind me. Miraculously, I had just searched Amtrak on my email and had come across e-tickets with a barcode. And then miraculously, I saw an e-ticket kiosk. I stared at it for a minute, then scanned my phone. And boom. Twelve tickets printed themselves.

Technology is truly wonderful.

I handed out the tickets and we found our gate in about two minutes. It was a lovely feeling minus wondering how Wes was doing in the parking department.

Two young ladies came by to discuss with me the importance of bride/mother of the church during the end times, so this distracted me nicely.

And then there was Wes. With plenty of time to spare.

Amazing how things work out. Schedules stress me out. Need to work on that.

We boarded and stayed on one train til Boston.

Beautiful colors, a couple naps, couple good pictures and a cross word puzzle.

And then, a train swap in Boston.

And oh my.

Adventures continued.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to the wheels on the train.

  1. your mother says:

    wonderful wonderful. I love your writing style….what a grand time. anybody worried about hurricane Sandy? I’m trying to keep my hand off the worried button and just pray for your safety. keep the post coming.

  2. dbowiniii says:

    um… do you have any Stogsdill in your blood? Hmmm. I wonder. Glad you are having a great time and that all things came together nicely for you. Hmmm. Amazing how that happens.

  3. Aunt Stace says:

    Kelsey. You sound an awful lot like your Aunt Stace. Not the “discussing the end times/church/bride” part but the Stress of Departure part. (In case anyone was wondering in blogreader land. HA) Yep it’s in the genes. Soooo…..can’t wait to hear more of this great train trip.

  4. PaulaJ says:

    It appears that you not only had time to spare but room to spare; who can put their feet up like that in a airplane? Thank you for sharing the photos, thus capturing the pace and mood on the train and a bit of wonderful scenery, as well. Keep having a grand time!

Leave a Reply

