lessons learned.

1. If you need help, ask for it.

2. If someone looks like they need help, they probably do. Help them.

I left you in Boston. During a train swap.

I feel like I roll with punches. Generally. But maybe you don’t feel that way about me.
Regardless, this whole schedule deal stresses me out. Not a whole lot of rolling with punches in a care free manner. The train from Boston to Portland was going to leave at 5:00 whether or not we were there.

Isn’t that just a stressful thought when you’re trying to figure out how in the world to get to this train?

I had helpfully googled a few things so I knew that we were supposed to get on the ‘Orange Line’ to find our departing train. So we found that without too much difficulty, (do we buy tickets, how do we buy tickets, oh how ’bout we ask that lady,) and then we were on our way to the commuter train. Except there were two tracks with trains going in either direction.

We watched one train leave because we had no idea which way to go. We studied the maps, but there were really no helpful signs. Wes became confident that we should have boarded the train that had just left but as I quizzed him on this, it seemed to me that it was more of an intuition.

This made me nervous.

Then I spotted a nice lady and asked her which train went to North Station. And she cheerfully told me we were headed the right direction. And it was such a wonderful feeling.

So we boarded, then arrived at North Station. And there was not a single sign for Amtrak.

We followed the crowd but evidently followed the wrong crowd as we found ourselves outside the station, with no attendants. We wandered around and eventually Wes left us to look for assistance. Grampa, Grama and I stood around looking, I guess, lost.

Then along came an angel. Who asked us if we needed help. She was so friendly and cheerfully told us how to get to Amtrak and let us back in the station with her ticket.

Wes was called back and we started back on the right road. I saw her across the track as we journeyed on and she let us know we were headed in the right direction.

Such a wonderful feeling. (Think I’ve already said that).

The train ride to Portland was smooth. Our very cheerful Boston passengers shared drugs (some had a headache but had no advil, others were in need of Tums so some trading occurred with much merriment) and shared the woes of having a very handsome colonoscopy doctor. #thethingsyouhearonpublictransportation.

Snort.

And in no time at all, we had hopped into a cab, arrived at Hertz, and are now sporting around in a Dodge Town & Country.

The only thing we’ve had a hard time getting away from is the World Series.

I’ll leave you with a guess.

Who did we have to pull away from the hotel room?

‘Mm, I want to watch Posey.’

Chuckle.

Oh yes, as to those lessons; don’t forget how wonderfully helpful people can be. They’re probably just waiting for you to ask! And! Offer to help the poor souls who look bemused and confused. They might need some assistance and will bless you again and again.

I can’t imagine trying to figure these things out in a foreign country.

Thank goodness for Selcuk and his hand holding.

Cheerio!

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to lessons learned.

  1. Aunt Stace says:

    Oh my. That was a nail biter for sure reading about you guys doing the train switch. And, I do love the picture of you four!

  2. PaulaJ says:

    I like lesson #2.”If someone looks like they need help, they probably do. Help Them.”
    Boston: perhaps tourists always need help in Boston. We have fond memories of being a bit bewildered there-more than once-and helpful Bostonians speaking up, asking us if we needed help, and then helping us. They understood Lesson #2. A big thanks to the Boston folks!

Leave a Reply

