all in a days work.

Wes gets up and goes to work at 5, 6, 7, or 8, depending on the day.

I faithfully stumble in around 9:15.

Gladys and I unload lunch, toys, bed and coffee, then off we go down the driveway. Gladys does her thing and I get the mail. This is always exciting because you never know what will be in that mail box. I do believe being ‘head of accounts receivable’ is my favorite part of this job.

If Gladys doesn’t do her thing, I mutter, groan, and wonder at my lack of patience.If Gladys does do her thing, we head back up the driveway to Ace and settle in.

This means I sort invoices and Gladys plays.

Then our first customer comes in and Gladys flies madly around the office, leaping from here to there in her excitement. As I calmly follow her around, pointing at her bed and giving her the evil eye when my back is to the customer, I pray the customer likes dogs.

Most times, they do.

(This sweet little lady had Alzheimer and Gladys definitely took her back to a happy place).

Next, there’s a little lull, I busily type away and father phil works diligently on an estimate. Gladys ponders the beauty of the outdoors.
And then, a favorite, break time. Gladys enjoys this and lunch time exceedingly because there’s a certain young man that goes by the name of Abel who cannot resist her big brown eyes. When the microwave goes off, Gladys will spin, play dead and roll over to see if she can catch his eye.(She prefers Yoplait over store brands).

The afternoon comes and things slow down. Fewer customers, occasional parts deliveries, another walk to the mail box and lots of sun to bask in.

An occasional rush comes around 4:00. Everyone seems to want an estimate. Bills for finished cars are rapidly being produced. The door from the office to the shop constantly revolves.

Glad doesn’t become too concerned.

Then, like clock work, it’s 5:00

And it’s time to go home.All in a days work.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in animals, Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to all in a days work.

  1. Jennifer says:

    Oh Gladys. I love the pic of her gazing out the window.

  2. dbowiniii says:

    Definitely my favorite grand dog. What about a good belly rub? Seems like those are always in demand.

  3. the 4th says:

    i bet father phil loves paying you to do photoshoots of gladys.

  4. your mother says:

    you should do a calendar — ‘The dog days of ACE Collision”. Get customers to enter their favorite pic of their dog. Of course Gladys would grace the cover.

  5. your mother's REAL comment. says:

    i love how your dad gets on computers at other parts of the house so he can make multiple comments on your blog under other family members names. I do think a calendar is a nice idea but I don’t think it would be in high demand. My real comment is Glady’s is one lucky dog to be able to hang out there, look good for the camera, and then be able to trot next door to find a sun room and another nice lady that will give her treats and a belly rub.

Leave a Reply

