how i met some turks.

This was going to be a post about living simply.

I haven’t had a computer for a little under two weeks. And sadly to say, I don’t have enough blog love to tap out a post from my iphone. If you’ve received an email from me that says, ‘sent from my iphone,’ please feel privileged.

But really. I was feeling ‘simple’ because I didn’t have a car. Wes sold his s2000 and was using my lovely forester to commute. So a couple of Tuesdays ago was possibly the first day I had been at my house with no car.

And I was enjoying it.

Every fall, I’m sure that the season will be slower than the previous years. And it never is. And I would never change it. But sometimes I have to remember to live day to day and not think about everything that will be happening.

So I thoroughly enjoyed being stuck at home. I puttered around. Did some domestic duties. Made a nice dinner. Husband came home. We relaxed on the sofa.

And the next thing I knew we were in the car, headed to Richmond to look at a car.

So much for living simply.

I listened to details about this possible car purchase and felt sketchy. The seller couldn’t really speak English. He was leaving the country the next day. If he didn’t sell it that night, the dealer was buying it the next day.

Just seemed scammish.

We arrived and I sat in the car with all the moolah keeping a careful eye on the going ons. Two men approached Wesley from one side and a car was closing in on the other. I had my eagle eyes on.

Well. The car just parked and the next thing I knew, Wes was cutting it up in the parking lot with these two fellows. I mean, all three were excitedly talking, throwing their heads back in laughter and just having a great time at 10 pm in a parking lot.

Leave it to Wes, was all I thought.

Next thing I knew, he popped his head in the car and said, ‘Kels, they’re Turks, you should go talk to them.’

So out I hopped. And finally, after many a month of waiting, I got to bust out all my harikas, chok guzels, and teşekkür.

Oh we had a swell time together. Wes told me they were absolutely stunned to hear we had just gone to Turkey. They were over here (U.S.) for a year, something about interns was said, something about a father being a governor in Turkey, something about them being sub-governors.

Who knows. Perhaps we were visiting with some high and mighty folks. Nervous chuckles went around when I asked them about Syria (two lived in Ankara, Turkey’s capitol, and the other lived in Istanbul). They really wanted to hear about our trip. So out came the iphone and I showed them pictures from our travels. And it was so funny to have them recognize the places and say names that I recognized. ‘Oh yes, Pammukale.’ I tried to visit about the history of Çanakkale but while they recognized where I was talking about, no explanation of Anzac Cove of World War 1 made sense.

Truly though. I love my words. They asked what I thought about the car. An older gentleman who also must have been a Turk asked what I thought about Turkey. And to anything and everything, out came harika and chok guzel. Oh and it would make them laugh which, of course, made me laugh (and made my day).

And we didn’t even buy their car. But we said many teşekkürs on the way out.

A simply harika time.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Life as it Happens, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to how i met some turks.

  1. Dana says:

    🙂 Enjoy reading your blog again!!! Sorry about the computer hopefully the hubs has got it back in working order!!! Love this post and how from a skeptical situation came some much laughter, fun and merriment!!!

  2. Mel says:

    I could hear you inside my head…and it made me snort.

  3. Aunt Stace says:

    So awesome that you met some Turks and exchanged harikas!
    PS. Glad you’re writing again. 🙂

  4. your mother says:

    I loved hearing about the Turks! They have such a zeal for life! (maybe because they have had less?) I don’t know but it is infectious for sure. Loved the story, you sitting on the couch, then all of a sudden you are heading out to another county. Spur of the moment life is the best.
    and yes there are some of us that have missed you keeping us posted on your life. maybe i should thank your computer man you are up and typing again? Is it Jonathan? if so, thank you Mr. J!

Leave a Reply

