summer days…

And the living is easy. ‘wah.’ ‘wah.’

They used to play that song over the speakers in the gym during lunch. And it would always kinda make me nostalgic because, generally speaking, if I was at school, it wasn’t summer. So I would therefore desire summer which would then make me nostalgic.

How’s that for deductive reasoning.

Anyways. I don’t think I’ve ever been more ready for summer to end. And I feel guilty writing that because I just live for summer days. So maybe I should say I’ve never been more done with humidity than I was a week ago. Generally humidity doesn’t bother me much. I just hop in my pool. But when it’s gray, and wet and hot, well, I just get done with it.

This means that I’ve just gone face down, so to speak, these past three days. Glorious indeed. Swimming at the lake, tennis at night, hiking the next day, running dogs with friends.

I’m also very sore.

Anyways. I did have some very enjoyable summer days. That I don’t want to forget.

Like days at Moo Maw.

Moo Maw is seriously the best. I had a great time telling the cashier at Walmart all about it. She noticed that I was buying bug spray and off we went until eventually we were talking about Indians.

This time our boat didn’t break down so that was cool. Except I was mostly on a nice bigger plush boat. And now may have boat envy.

The water level was way down but it was still gorgeous.

We had some more people join us this year and that was a blast.

Here’s two.

Awe.

Many a boating adventure. Such as endeavors to barefoot ski. Which turned into, ‘how long can they hold on while skipping along on their backs?’ Honestly haven’t laughed that hard in awhile.

Back skipping then turned into belly boarding-another prime spectator sport. Belly boarding was much more of a success. Davey and Wes planed quickly and then veered around on their bellies. Like a said, wonderful spectator sport.

I hadn’t tubed in years. Tubing is just a vicious sport. But we had the best driver who sincerely wanted everyone to have a good time, not get hurt, and just enjoy themselves. So on the one person tube, four girls piled. And I’m not sure what was funnier, being on the tube with 3 others, or watching the spectators in the boat heaving at the sight we made.

We had a difficult time planing. And for quite awhile just galloped along.

Davey was also a big tubing fan. He’d always go with a friend and in no time at all, friend (Wes) would go flying off the tube and the tube would do some spectacular spins/flips along the water and we’d all ask, ‘Where’s Davey?’ Then we’d see a leg drifting behind the tube. And there he was. Still on the tube. Every time.

Great times.

So hurray for annual summer traditions.

I’m a fan.

More to come!

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to summer days…

  1. your mother says:

    ah yes that camping trip went into the “top 10” book. and i think those 2 peeps in the picture are cute times 100! the barefoot ski team was funny even for the on shore watchers and listening to the guys in the boat after a epic fail from barefoot ski team participant proclaim “THAT WAS BEAUTIFUL, YOU WERE AMAZING, GO AGAIN”. yes we laughed and laughed.

  2. the 4th says:

    question- what is the “wah wah” at the top of the post all about? do you think it is part of the song Doin’ Time? They used to play that song at lunch often. Summertime and the livin’s easy. However they also used to play the song the Joker. That song seems more Wah Wah ish.

  3. Pingback: i think this is now an annual tradition. | A Story of Us

Leave a Reply

