those were the days my friend…

I learned that song in Turkey. We were in an underground cavern watching different folk dances from all around Turkey. All the sudden ‘Those were the days’ came on and let me tell you, it was a big hit with all-Canadians, Australians, New Zealanders and Americans alike. Lots of arm waving, swaying and singing. I joined in on all three but only knew the first line of the chorus so pretty much just la la’d around.

In fact, as I was getting on the bus a few days later I was singing the ‘la la’ part of the song and the next thing I knew the whole bus had joined in with me and we were all merrily singing along together.

That was enjoyable.

I think the point of me tell you all that is to tell you that all these days that I haven’t been blogging were, ‘those were the days my friend’.

Either that or it was just a good intro.

So we left Turkey on June 11th. And we left for California on July 11th.

That’s roughly thirty days at home. Give or take.

In those 30 days we went to a wedding.

And with that comes the normal hoopla of trying to get 6 guys together who live all over, each with their own crazy schedule to practice. That’s always intriguing.

And we took one of my favorite self portraits ever.

All in the name of getting that little cherub in the middle to stop wailing. It worked!

I quit one job in the hopes that it would help slow life down a bit. Not so much, but working with Wes has been a blast.

Lets see. Had a nice girls night out.

Worked some more.

And such.

And then we left.

And perhaps that’s where I’ll come back.

Cherio!

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to those were the days my friend…

  1. Been missing your blogging…but understand live is more important.! Glad to see you for a couple of minutes when you were out..Hope you had a uneventful trip back home!

Leave a Reply

