our cottage by the sea…

Or rather, cottage by the pool.

I may or may not have mentioned this, but Wes and I are flying to Istanbul in a week or so and traveling around with my parents and Davey for a week or so.

And I may have mentioned that Wes has been working a wee bit. As in a lot.

These two things put together have made me feel slightly out of control on the home front. As in, Wes doesn’t think I could handle our weed eater or the hills on our mower. And I’ve tried tackling the fence many a time by myself and always fail.

Incidentally, did I tell you about the time that I was going to ‘help’ by screwing screws into the ‘horizontals’? I had fussed a bit about one particular screw and Wes came over to help. Well, after he helped me I had infinitely more problems and Wes was trying to convince me that I could be just as helpful doing other tasks. But I was determined to show him up. Five minutes later, after much more lower case cursing at the drill, Wes came over to see the problem. It was in reverse. And I’d managed to strip the torx bit. Or something.

I then was only allowed to move boards around. Wes would praise my moving boards abilities and I’d pretend fuss and say, ‘You’re just saying that because you won’t let me drill.’

Oh chuckle. Great memories. And I promise, it was pretty darn funny in the moment as well.

Anyways, this weekend everything came together. Harley can no longer get into our pool area. And Gladys can no longer get out. (When I remember to shut the gates). The back 40 is beautifully mowed and weed-eated. (?) (Is that a word?) I planted about forty zinnias and that always makes me happy. And our pool is open.

And we have a huge snapping turtle. In the pool.

Whose apparently been very happily feeding on frogs.

Ladies! Who can’t wait for a pool party?!

Chuckle.

And that’s that. Happy in my home.

 

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to our cottage by the sea…

  1. Rach says:

    I can’t wait! 🙂 Have fun in Turkey. We’ll miss you.

  2. Aunt Sherri says:

    Kels, you make me smile…always. Love your posts. Have a great trip. Love you!

  3. auntie a says:

    I can’t believe you are going so far away..that will be quite the blog post that I am very much looking forward to reading. Enjoyed your post, like always!:)

  4. Jennifer says:

    A snapping turtle!?!?!? That sounds so cool!!! Oh, and so does the trip 😉

  5. Dana says:

    Parker and I cannot wait to join you by the pool sometime!!! Miss seeing your beautiful face! Have fun traveling!!!

  6. Kristy says:

    your house looks so pretty in that night shot!
    what on earth are you going to do about that turtle?
    I’ll miss you while you’re gone!
    And I look forward to swimming all summer long!!

  7. Chad says:

    You guys have fun in Turkey! Tell your family hellp for me. I’m looking forward to your post trip posts.

  8. L. says:

    Kels, Love the “helping” with the drill story! 🙂 sounds like me trying to help!! Have fun on Vacation!

  9. A friend says:

    I can’t wait to swim again! I will miss you a lot. I can’t wait till we all get all of these trips out of the way and can spend the summer together.

Leave a Reply

