i’m a wimp.

And I’m bushed.

I dutifully followed my list. And I think I got everything cooked that needed to be.

Wes is bushed too.

So is Glad.

It’s been a long day.

So we’re going camping tomorrow. And Gladys can’t come with us. And this is where the wimp part comes in. I was a wimp. Glad was a wimp. And who knows, Wes may be a wimp tomorrow. And this is where all you non dog people should probably just stop here. You might just roll your eyes a bit too much.

I found a nice ‘kennel alternative’ for Glad to go. Huge fenced in yards where happy hounds get to roam all over and play. We went today for a little meet and greet. Glad hopped out of the car and we trotted towards the place. And then the dogs started barking.

Now. When Cody and Tessa go for a ride and hop out and see that they’re at their boarding place, they just hop right back in the car like, ‘No thanks!’ And it’s kinda funny. Gladys immediately must of thought of shelter days. Because she began quivering like a leaf. And I would have to go to the end of the leash and coax her down the path over and over again. And she would just shake and look at me with her huge eyes asking me if I was betraying her.

And the lady who runs the place was calling her in the most high pitched cheerful voice that dogs adore and Glad just continued to shiver. For like fifteen minutes. And as I was plopped indian style on the ground trying to get her to come into the yard, I had to tell myself, quite sternly, ‘Kelsey. Do not cry. Don’t. That would appear quite pathetic. Don’t.’

So I listened to myself, hastily blinked and continued coaxing. And we finally got to the point where we romped around the yard together, met the other dogs and seemed to do ok.

But when we got back into the car, Glad perched on the middle consul and leaned all her weight on my shoulder. Like, can we stay like this forever?

After that, it was a pretty good day.

One of the many perks of this new job of mine.

Cheerio and here’s to not being wimps tomorrow!

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to i’m a wimp.

  1. Nathlaie Keating says:

    I thought you might ask the owner of your favorite black lab to watch your Glad. By all the love you have shown him, he would surely ask his owners if they could help you out with his friend.
    Hope tomorrow goes well.
    Nathalie

  2. Kim says:

    Glads is dreaming of some one on one time with the
    “grand-dad” looks like to me.

  3. your mother says:

    oh Gladys will do just fine, she’ll probably find a boyfriend! This new job of yours…you sure have a nice boss that lets you A) bring Gladys to work with you and B) lets Gladys sleep in chairs rather than the floor like most dogs. I will tell you, I love how your pictures go with your stories…

    • Amber says:

      oh boy……a boyfriend for Gladys?!?!? I don’t think Kelsey is ready for her lil one to be a teenager yet….haha!!

  4. Aunt Stace says:

    Um, Gladys going to Boarding House kinda reminds me of Brad’s first day of kindergarten. Probably by the next time you have to leave her she’ll be excited to get to play with her friends. Here’s hoping!

  5. Amber says:

    you my friend are so hilarious ūüôā next time maybe Hunter and I can baby sit Gladys…:)

  6. the observer says:

    one question for you. this picture of your place of employment that we see above. are all the people that work there over 6ft. 6in. tall? i find the placement of the microwave a bit challenging. or is it just you say “oh excuse me while I go run get the 6ft. ladder so I can re-heat my chicken cordon bleu in the microwave right above your head Mr. C”. or maybe this is one of those games, count how many things are wrong in this picture?

Leave a Reply

