i’m being like my mom.

We’re going camping this weekend. And I haven’t had a day at home yet this week and it doesn’t really look like I’ll have one. So when I got home from work today I pulled out my Stogsdill side and made nice lists on google docs itemizing each meal, every food in each meal, and each ingredient I needed to make each food work for each meal. Heh. How was that for a thought process.

And I feel lots better. My mom would be proud. My dad? Not sure. When I called to ask questions about a traveling form I was filling out Dad told me to just make up phone numbers for insurance and for contact details..just kinda fill it out. Did I think that ‘they’ would come after me if I incorrectly filled out the form?

I finally got a hold of my mother who told me exactly what to fill out.

Chuckle. Am I learning something new about myself?

Hopefully tomorrow, I will be able to be amazing and whip everything out. I do believe, with the help of my trusty list, I’ll accomplish most.

And let’s see. How ’bout we tune into a new station.

I do love parties.

To walk in, and see this, and hear the rain on the roof, and the murmur of voices…

and the tinkling of laughter,

and the taste of amazing food, the happy chatter, the glorious music made by many singing voices and an expert on the eighty eights (not me), and the hysterical music.

Hysterical music being duets played by my dear friend and me. Think the Happy Farmer, Ol’ MacDonald, and some nice minuets. Oh my. Haven’t enjoyed banging away like that in quite some time.

I will say that the glorious music was much more profitable. And much more beautiful.

Ah. Parties.

Thanks friends!

And it’s off to bed I go, with the hopes that when the alarm clock goes off tomorrow, I’ll suddenly be like my mom again. (A morning person).

(Not likely).

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to i’m being like my mom.

  1. Mel says:

    Your dad is so very…inventive. And when he does get caught, a few words from his golden lips, and folks are all falling over themselves trying to get into his good graces. It’s distrubingly contrary to logic. I think I just might be a little jealous. And I’m with you on the lists. I love lists. Looked like a fun party…especially when I saw a few of the guests present.

  2. Jana says:

    Oh that’s awesome 🙂 Lists really are a good thing. I’ve been making them all week. 🙂 I’m sure all your food will be wonderful! 🙂

  3. The Madre says:

    well well well. hmmm. i do think it is “list people” that run the country and make things happen. and like i’ve always said “you want me to work FOR you because of my amazing LIST abilities but you do not necessarily want to work WITH me because i just might drive you nuts with my LIST!”. so, there is a balance somewhere in there. your father? yes there is a rather long LIST of things he has pulled off and hoops he has jumped threw because the LIST was missing from his life! but like Mel said people would rather hang out with him, it is far more exciting for sure!!
    about that party, too bad I was not on the LIST of invites…that looked like a good way to spend a Sat. evening!

  4. dbowiniii says:

    How about making your google docs lists public so that mom (and others) could critique? Might be very interesting to hear the opinions of some of your followers. Not that I am saying that you have any opinionated followers. No. Not at all.

    • Mel says:

      Yes, yes. We ALL are so very docile and diplomatic. We would never judge.

      (And for the benefit of unknown readers, I immensely admire your innovation and superb communication skills.)

  5. Kristy says:

    you DO put the most flattering photos on the world-wide-web.
    great party, though, I agree.
    I’m excited about this weekend!

Leave a Reply

