wherein i try…

And fail.

Today was going to be a really impressive day. I was going to impress myself, impress Wes, and impress all of you. I even took before pictures so that when I showed you the after pictures you’d be blown away. And tell me that I totally deserved the Linda Award.

Alas, there are no impressive after pictures. Just one rather pathetic one.

It all began with Harley. Running through our fence. This caused us to look a little closer at our fence and immediately decide it needed to be replaced. Since then, Wes has been going nonstop at work. And the fence has been put on the back burner.

Until this weekend. All fence materials have been dropped off and we are ready to go.

Last night at dinner Wes murmured something about what to do. I said, ‘eh? speak up.’ (not really). And he said he was trying to figure out which item on his to do list he’d like to cross off. Like, it’d be great if the fence was all taken down by the pool before the weekend. But he could probably do that in a half an hour on Thursday evening.

So. I decided to be a big girl. And an amazing wife. And I was going to destroy that fence. And it was going to be so impressive. Heck, if Wesley could do it in a half an hour, I could do it in an hour. Ha.

So I started off by taking a before picture.

Then began the search for the hammer. That took approximately ten minutes.

Then I decided I should probably take a fierce picture of myself in destruction mode.

Oooo. Fierce.

Then I hit the fence a few times. And that accomplished nothing. So I examined the fence. And found that the railings were screwed in to the posts. So back to the house to search for a screw driver.

I found a screw driver and got one screw out. And then I thought about how wonderful it would be to use a drill. So I went and found the drill. Problem. No bit in drill. Luckily skype was up so I hollered until my mom came running and together we examined the drill driving to find the button to open up the …thing. Mom gave lots of helpful hints but nothing was happening.

So I googled it. Very helpful.

With bit in drill, I confidently strode back down to the pool, sure I could now be successful.

Darn drill. I was able to get about twelve screws out of the wood. I didn’t want to call Wes because that would have just ruined the impressiveness. So I turned to my facebook friends for help.

And boy were they helpful.

And then I called my dad.

And then I kicked the fence.

And then I called Wes.

He laughed.

And told me not to worry about it. And I fussed and said it was really annoying and that dumb drill and I wanted to have it done when he got home and…

And he laughed some more.

So I took Gladys for a walk and then hopped in the car to head to town.

And now? I laugh.

A lot.

Snort.

 

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in best of, Life as it Happens, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to wherein i try…

  1. LSM says:

    Boy, I can so relate to you. A few weeks ago I decided to insulate the garage by myself because drywall was coming in on Sat. and Art had a super busy week. So lo and behold I got er done. It was a great feeling of accomplishment but I have NEVER been so sore in my entire life. Art was appreciative though. Hey, look at it like this, at least you got one section of fence out and that’s one less that Wes will have to do. Now he should have the thing down in 25 minutes instead of 30.

  2. LSM says:

    BTW, happy birthday to your hubby on Sunday. ( I remember he share’s the same day as Amanda)

  3. Aswifty says:

    Hey Kels, that hammer looks like it was around during the ice age!
    Nice work. Drills ARE dumb, aren’t they? Everyone always tells me to hold it straight, when I am already, beyond the shadow of a doubt, holding it as straight as can be. But somehow… the drill is crooked or something. Maybe faulty screws.

  4. Mel says:

    You have unwittingly created a new award. An award which may be better than the Linda Award. After all, Linda Awards only grace us a couple of times a year. This new award I deem the Kels Marie Award. And I shall present it to myself weekly, or at least bi-weekly. This is not an achievement award, rather one that uplifts the spirits of the downtrodden woman, when good intentions go awry. If I had known about it prior, I would have gotten the award the day that I ALMOST replaced the kitchen faucet before Allan arrived home. (In walks Allan…couldn’t greet him merrily at the door with a smile, kiss and three happy children, with dinner bubbling away on the stove, like I usually do, because I had my head buried under the sink with a wrench in my hand.) I would have gotten it the day…well, never mind. One must not share ALL of one’s secrets. Instead, I congratulate you, Kels! Well done!

  5. Chad says:

    Kels, please know that I am laughing with you, NOT at you. Just the mental picture of you hollering at the computer for your Mom to help and then you kicking the darn fence just cracks me up. Great fierce face btw.

  6. dbowiniii says:

    You kind of look like a terrorist. A for effort. I kind if felt like a failure as a father reading this and realizing I failed in the fence demolition teaching but I re-read the “raising a great daughter” book and didn’t see that requirement so was finally able to sleep. Until the thunder woke me up as I assumed our home had taken a direct hit. What’s left of the retinas are still smoldering.

  7. Whitney says:

    Oh my word, that is hilarious! I can just hear you hollering at your Mom through the computer. 🙂 Well, at least you got a little bit done anyway. You should feel some sense of accomplishment about that!

  8. Aunt Stace says:

    Kelsey… You look just like a modern day Rosie the Riveter! (WE CAN DO IT!) Love that determination in those furrowed brows. Love how you hollered for your mom on Skype to come to the computer. Love how the FB post turned into a bunch of guys talking about using explosives to tear down a fence instead of using a screwdriver to nicely dismantle the fence. (Must be a guy thing.) Great post.

Leave a Reply

