tiptoe…

Ten points for you if you can finish that title. I stopped to avoid being too cliche. …

So. I’ve discovered that I am more and more related to my Grama. Because when I found myself here I immediately wanted to get my Sound of Music on, go running through the fields, twirl my arms about and sing about the hills being alive. Not that my Grama does all that. She just loves flowers and flowers evidently love her. (Her yard is always amazing).

And here is the ‘here’.

A sea of never ending tulips. Could anything be more beautiful?

I now want to go to Holland. And sit forever in a field of tulips. Or perhaps I should just go back to the Tulip Festival in Madison. It’s a bit closer. In fact, it’s so close I don’t know how I have not been before.

I now declare an annual tradition.

Our lovely friend Dana invited a bunch to go picnicking at this marvelous place. Gorgeous day, could hardly pick prettier surroundings. We all, or most, partook in taste testing various tulips, picking flowers, and of course were entertained during lunch hour by this comedian.

There were these perfect sized ‘music’ stands with information regarding the tulips on them and that kid stood there and led a choir or orchestra (with much fervor) for a good fifteen minutes. So hilarious.

After lunch, we went strolling through the fields and found our favorite tulips.

A little Claude Monet anyone?

Here’s my bunch.

They’re pretty darn glorious.

And by the way, friends, you’ve been looking at 40,000 tulips.

My one hundred ninety bulbs, although beautiful, are feeling a little left out. I’ll be sure to give them more company next year.

Until then, I’ll still drool at my lovely patio, and these pictures and my gorgeous bouquet. Thank you Dana for the amazing day!

(Your little man is adorable here).

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to tiptoe…

  1. Dana says:

    Love the post and all the lovely pictures!!! 🙂 thanks again for coming and yes it will be an annual tradition now!!! And its “tiptoe through the tulips” I do believe!
    Hope to see you again soon!!!

  2. Amber says:

    how gorgeous. blast it all…….i so wished i could have gone, but sadly i had to work. i very much look forward to the day when i can join in on fun stuff like this.

  3. I soooo wish I could have been there! Tulips are my favorite flower! I’ve been to Holland and Madison is just as pretty if not prettier! Will the Tulips still be blooming in May? I don’t think so 😦 I’ll have to plan a trip for April.I would love to go see them in person! Thanks very much for sharing the pictures!!!

  4. Cynthia Corle says:

    How did I never know about that festival??? I must put it on my calendar! They are absolutely gorgeous!!

  5. Jana says:

    So fun! I’m laughing at the photo of all of us picking and telling you that you need a mixed bunch! 🙂 Hope you liked our advice. 🙂

  6. Ali G says:

    The Tulips look beautiful! I love your blog!

Leave a Reply

