what i think i learned from this winter.

I say ‘I think’ because I’m not so sure I’ll be able to put this new found knowledge to practice next winter, but perhaps I can meditate on my new wisdom and find help.

As you all know, I have found Virginia winters to be very different than Central Coast California winters. I about froze to death my first winter back here. Granted, I was still dressing like I was living in California and have since learned a few tips on survival back here. Still, it’s pretty darn cold when winter strikes. For months on end.

So, when November comes around, I hunker down, get into survival mode and just try to ride out the winter by solemnly focusing on the hope of spring.

A few weeks ago, I was jogging down the street with Gladys in the evening. And I was relishing the fact that it was cool enough to wear a sweatshirt. And I began to reflect. I love heat and sun and warmth and summer. But it was so delightful to take a run on a chilly evening. And I couldn’t believe that spring was around the corner.

And then I started thinking about winter. And how it was basically nonexistent. And how I had only made soup two and a half times. And how astonishing that was. And how I would adore it if that was how every winter was back here.

But that maybe, instead of closing my eyes and gritting my teeth against winter, I should try to be a little more accepting. And enjoy the moments only winter can give.

Moments like these.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to what i think i learned from this winter.

  1. Aswifty says:

    Good for you, Kelsey Marie. I’ve found that a little spunk will get you a long ways. But how much better when you’re learning to actually enjoy things instead of running on spunk! Cuz what if your spunk meter suddenly read empty and you went into depression and despondency?
    Anyway, thanks for sharing this post. I’m learning this same lesson. And this helped alot.
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

