not your typical thursday evening.

Yesterday I got home from work early, called Wes to see if he’d come home on time so we’d have a nice evening and dinner. (He’s been a bit busy at the shop). And then I lounged on my wonderful sun warmed patio and read a book. And then I decided to I’d better come up with a good dinner since that was the lure to get Wes home. So between chapters I worked on a nice loaf of rosemary garlic bread to go with steak, potatoes, ceasar salad, and a bloomin’ onion.

Tra la la.

Wes stepped in the door around 6:40. He was on the phone. Gladys was running away. I chased Gladys. I caught Gladys. And gaspingly went back home. And Wes told me that our friends wanted us to go out to dinner with them. In a limo. To eat at some great places.

How can you turn that down? You can’t. So in a blazing twenty minutes, we transformed ourselves, shoved Gladys in her kennel, waved goodbye to the merrily rising bread and toodled off in our Forrester to meet them in their limo.

Getting driven around in a limo is slightly different than bombing around in our forrester.

Delightfully different in fact.

First stop was the melting pot. Great first stop. We indulged in cheeses, breads, fruit and veggies. And I’ll have to say, when Wes ordered the Swiss cheese, I was a little dubious. But great things happen when you melt Swiss with a little white wine, garlic, nutmeg (who knew?) and perhaps something else. Killer combo.

We then were picked up by our trusty steed and transported a few blocks down to Hamiltons. And that was a pleasurable experience. Beef tenderloin, crispy shallots, garlic mashed potatoes, asparagus, chicken and pancetta over pasta, mixed greens, bread…

And then. We went back to Melting Pot for dessert. heh. I think only one person in our party thought it was slightly ridiculous to make a return trip. And it wasn’t me. I politely went face down in the chocolate. Scrumptious.

Back into the limo where we all stretched out and groaned a bit, (or at least I did) and chuckled about getting chauffeured around. And then we were back in the forrester headed home.

We were greeted by Houdini at the front door.

Apparently Gladys was not too fond of spending her evening in her kennel and somehow managed to escape.

Not quite sure how she managed this but I feel like there was a lot of thrashing around going on. After wondering where she had camped out for the evening, I finally found a nice Gladys size indention smack dab in the middle of our bed, centered between the two massive pillows. It was as if she was trying to be adorable while thoroughly breaking rules.

Bread came out of the oven around midnight and while its about twice its normal size, we’re trying it out for dinner.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

Swell, swell evening. Not every Thursday do you get to pretend you’re VIP. Brought back great memories of this puppy.

(Wedding day at the ranch).

Alright. Signing off. Thanks friends.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in food, friends. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to not your typical thursday evening.

  1. Aunt Stace says:

    I wanna be friends of your friends, toooooo……(Pretend there’s a whiny voice on the toooo…..)
    And, I KNEW Gladys was smart. (Pretend there’s a know-it-all voice on the KNEW.)

  2. Kristy says:

    How fun! Aren’t progressive dinners out so fun!? Its one of our favorite things to do. Taken the above mentioned with us a time or two. I know y’all had a splendid evening!!

  3. Us says:

    Wr had a great evening with the two of you! Thanks for joining us.

  4. Aswifty says:

    I made Chinese on my fine Thursday. Know what my husband said?
    “For my birthday I’d like my mom’s Chinese.”
    That was the end of our delightful evening.
    You know what though? I’m GLAD you had a wonderful time.
    I’m definitely not holding it against you.

  5. LSM says:

    Well… LA TEE DA! What a splendid evening! Ok, I’ll admit I’m dying of curiosity about who arranged all of this etc. But I won’t ask. (until I see your mom at camp:-)

  6. Aswifty says:

    Today has been great! Not sure why I ended up with an aggressive dinner the other night when you got a progressive one… but however… today was wonderful just so you know.=)

Leave a Reply

